Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Collapse Details
    dummy drives for 500
    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    phoenix AZ
    Posts
    11
    Default
    cant seem to power dummy drive via procedures for hard disk
    Last edited by vamanos; 07-13-2008 at 12:34 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member Kit Hannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Fresno, California
    Posts
    1,229
    Default
    You need to be a bit more specific and let us know what you are working with and what you are intending to do. That post sounds like a text message I got last week..... Don't short hand it.... C'mon now...
    Kit Hannah
    kithannah@gmail.com
    Sony Nex-7 w/ Multiple Sony E Lenses & Minolta MD Rokkor-X Lenses, 3x RPS Studio 15x15 Softboxes w/ Flos, Cool Lights LED600 fixtures, various hot lights, Tascam Recorder, Audio Technica & Sennheiser Mics, Sony Headphones, Sony Vegas, Sony Laptop. My camera, audio and editing station all fit into a backpack.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    phoenix AZ
    Posts
    11
    Default
    Kit u rock, I purchased an iomega portable hard drive (firewire /USB) to back up footage right after shooting, my 500 rep tells me that the 1394 output will power the dummy drive to dump files . Im folowing procedure for connecting hard disk from the manual ,but when I get to step 5 to format hard disk and to copy it freezes at set up.It looks as if there is no power going to the HDD.I varified the HDD powers on another computor.sorry about the short hand new to this stuff.
    Last edited by vamanos; 07-13-2008 at 03:25 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member smelni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,554
    Default
    the 1394 connection is not powered
    SLM Production Group
    http://www.slmproduction.com - HPX500 available


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    phoenix AZ
    Posts
    11
    Default
    It can be done via the dc output behind the camera?my goal is to be able to back up with out haveing to carry a computor all the time


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member cheezweezl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Beautiful Downtown Burbank
    Posts
    2,363
    Default
    just power the hard drive on it's own and you'll be fine. or is it a mini drive that is bus power only? if so, burn it and buy a normal drive.
    "There is no forest. There are no trees."

    Cinematography Reel on Vimeo

    www.fisherfilmworks.com


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •