Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 153
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Senior Member Tom Shortridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    589
    Default
    Has anyone seen any good deals on any of the computers on this list recently?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Default
    Buy.com has a Dell Latitude D600 for $379 right now.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    114
    Default
    Thanks for all the help Barry. This P2 business is making my wallet very very slim, but I'm very thankful for all this info that's being shared.

    This computer below seems to be a really great option - pricewise and feature wise.

    Acer Extensa 5620-4321 Notebook Computer - $650 at BHPhoto

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Computer.html

    1.86GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T2390
    1x ExpressCard/54 Slot
    1x PCMCIA CardBus (Type II)
    3gb of RAM
    160GB, 5400rpm SATA

    I should order this one soon. Anybody got anything better?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Senior Member CherryTime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Capital de Suede
    Posts
    190
    Default
    Thats a perfect laptop Imo, go for it! Just got myself one similar and it pwnages.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    114
    Default
    Awesome, Cherry, you're talking about the Acer Extensa I posted right? Yeah, it just kills the other laptops - with just 50 dollars more, you get 2gb extra ram, great memory, duo core processor. What more could you ask for?

    Have you had any problems with dropouts or errors, etc? I don't need any more dropouts- I switched out of tape for a reason.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Senior Member Tom Shortridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    589
    Default
    Sorry, one more dumb question - I've been looking all through the forum, but can't find an answer.

    Is Vista still a pain in the butt for working with P2? I wouldn't be editing with it, merely offloading cards to the hard-drive and something like a MyPassport to take back to the Avid suite.

    Anybody have any hands-on experiences?

    Reason I'm asking in this thread is, I saw an Acer with 160gb hard drive, 2GHz, 2GB ram at Best Buy for 500 bucks, but the only downside was it came with Vista, no option for XP.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Member With Answers
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,915
    Default
    32-bit Vista works fine for offloading, Panasonic provided drivers for it a long time ago. I'm not sure if 64-bit Vista drivers are available yet.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Senior Member ullanta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles and Cochabamba
    Posts
    3,924
    Default
    Has anyone tried an HP/Compaq NC6000? There are many of these available used for low prices; they have both Gig-E and 2 cardbus slots...
    "I'd like to say that I've never come across two know nothing pretenders on the weird wide web before, but unfortunately it's all too common and is exactly why, according to the last government survey, only 5% of all internet users ever use forums or chats. And it's exactly why I'm done with this one. You two really need to get jobs and out of your mother's basements. You can't fix stupid. And I don't have time for stupid." -swoopie


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Senior Member CherryTime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Capital de Suede
    Posts
    190
    Default
    Add the new battery cost ontop of that @ ullanta

    But I personally haven't tried one out.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Senior Member Tom Shortridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    589
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by THoff View Post
    32-bit Vista works fine for offloading, Panasonic provided drivers for it a long time ago. I'm not sure if 64-bit Vista drivers are available yet.
    Thanks, figures the one I was looking at has a 64-bit processor.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •