Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 80
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Recife, Brazil
    Posts
    23
    Default
    I've been using a HDMI>DVI adaptor in my projector for years now and i think they are compatible. So i guess you could still use a ACD with a MXO2 using one of those. I don't have a proper MXO (i was going to buy it last week), I think it has some LUTs for ACD etc. So I don't know if you could still use those with the adaptor.

    This is what i found at Wikipedia.

    HDMI is backward-compatible with the single-link Digital Visual Interface carrying digital video (DVI-D or DVI-I, but not DVI-A) used on modern computer monitors and graphics cards. This means that a DVI-D source can drive an HDMI monitor, or vice versa, by means of a suitable adapter or cable, but the audio and remote control features of HDMI will not be available. Additionally, without support for High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) on the display, the signal source may prevent the end user from viewing or recording certain restricted content.
    OK. What i really need now is some kind of official confirmation hehehe.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member bigbossbmb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pasadena/Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    723
    Default
    It should work (at least in getting the image to the ACD). However, the MXO2 may not include the LUTs for the ACDs.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Recife, Brazil
    Posts
    23
    Default
    I got the following answer at the official MXO forum at Matrox.

    With regards to your questions, Matrox will offer the Blue only and calibration tools with the MXO2, just like what we had on the MXO. Using an HDMI TV makes a lot of sense for monitoring since this device is designed to receive YUV information. With an ACD monitor, the MXO needs LUTs because the ACD is an RGB device. However, the MXO2 will not need LUTs to drive an HDMI monitor. It will provide blue only calibration, and this will ensure proper color adjustment and therefore turns your HDMI TV into a broadcast monitor.

    Another thing which is worth mentioning is this PDF file which highlights the defeasances between the MXO2 and the MXO.

    Thanks for your patience and please let us know if you have any aditinal questions.
    So i guess that's good official news.



    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Senior Member Shane Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    1,687
    Default
    NICE...now why didn't I ask that when I was there? I know you asked me to. Guess I didn't remember too as I was SWAMPED with people asking about the MXO...

    thanks for this. Mind if I quote that for that post on the blog?
    Shane
    www.lfhd.net
    Little Frog in High Def.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    helsinki, finland
    Posts
    59
    Default
    Hmm, I'm a little sceptical about this. I mean consumer TELEVISIONS are now suddenly turned into professional monitors?

    Ok, if the colors can be calibrated with bars and all, don't those TVs still have some technology to improve the picture quality, actually making the picture look nicer and better for consumers? Televisions are not meant for critical viewing, they're for pleasure.

    How can I trust what I see if I'm using a basic HDMI television, when there might be some circuits or anti-aliasing filters to smoothen the picture? As I understand it, it's like with old CRT televisions, you "can" use them for monitoring, but really how truly professional and accurate that is, is an other question...

    If there is no difference between say Apple's Cinema display and basic HDMI television in the true pixel-to-pixel performance, then maybe there is no problem.

    Don't get me wrong, I like this new MXO box just looking at the specs, just makes me question. Sounds like monitoring with this was meant for field use.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Recife, Brazil
    Posts
    23
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Shane Ross View Post
    NICE...now why didn't I ask that when I was there? I know you asked me to. Guess I didn't remember too as I was SWAMPED with people asking about the MXO...

    thanks for this. Mind if I quote that for that post on the blog?
    Wow shane. Not at all. I would be flattered.

    Now i just need to now if they have an upgrade policy if i buy the mxo now... i need it.



    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Recife, Brazil
    Posts
    23
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by proffit View Post
    How can I trust what I see if I'm using a basic HDMI television, when there might be some circuits or anti-aliasing filters to smoothen the picture? As I understand it, it's like with old CRT televisions, you "can" use them for monitoring, but really how truly professional and accurate that is, is an other question...
    Hmmm, i guess now the task for us is to find the simplest, or less feature rich panel on the market. Every sticker "me does it too technology" looses one point in the game.



    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Default
    Does the MXO2 support 2K resolutions?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Senior Member bigbossbmb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pasadena/Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    723
    Default
    nope, you'll need a Kona3 for that


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Junior Member M-Jay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Hague - The Netherlands
    Posts
    11
    Default
    What is the big difference in the MXO2 and the new Blackmagic DeckLink HD Extreme with HDMI? This card sells for $ 995,-


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •