Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 59
  1. Collapse Details
    #11
    Senior Member ProfessorU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    1,483
    Default
    I'd be interested to see if other people are noticing slightly faster transfer times with the new P2 drivers.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #12
    Junior Member Rook3000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    2
    Default
    First P2 only shoot tomorrow. My new mantra "no drag and drop, no drag and drop, no drag and drop . . ."

    Wish me luck.

    I'll also time my imports, we'll be shooting to 16gig cards . . . keep you posted!
    Kris D'Amico Photography
    335 Main Street
    Suite 200
    Franklin, TN 37064

    Have you been to our brand new website yet?
    http://www.krisdamicophotography.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #13
    Junior Member Rook3000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    2
    Default
    Alright, so we shot to 4 16Gig P2 cards and offloaded to a G4 Powerbook running FCP 5

    Card 1- 8:03
    Card 2- 9:12
    Card 3 - 9:55
    Card 4 - 10:01

    No idea why the times got higher, maybe a RAM issue (only got 2 Gigs on that laptop). Anyway, hope it helps!

    KD
    Kris D'Amico Photography
    335 Main Street
    Suite 200
    Franklin, TN 37064

    Have you been to our brand new website yet?
    http://www.krisdamicophotography.com


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #14
    Senior Member Tai Lyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Nelson, BC
    Posts
    204
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by Rook3000 View Post
    Alright, so we shot to 4 16Gig P2 cards and offloaded to a G4 Powerbook running FCP 5

    Card 1- 8:03
    Card 2- 9:12
    Card 3 - 9:55
    Card 4 - 10:01

    No idea why the times got higher, maybe a RAM issue (only got 2 Gigs on that laptop). Anyway, hope it helps!

    KD
    Hi Kris,

    Just curious to what your setup on your G4 is as I'm just setting up my G4

    Are you running Tiger or Leopard and what versions?

    What version of FCP5?

    What version of Quicktime?

    Are you using P2CMS?

    Lastly what model of G4 are you using?

    Lots of questions but there seems to be so many configurations and it seems you had success with your setup.

    Thanks,

    Tai


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #15
    Senior Member monkeyking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wash. DC metro area
    Posts
    724
    Default
    Kris,
    Are these dump times for completely full cards? It takes me 12-15 min. per full card on my 1.67 G4 powerbook.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #16
    Senior Member ProfessorU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    1,483
    Default
    You could also be noticing fragmentation catching up as fewer and fewer consecutive open spaces are available on the drive.
    I use a PC laptop and a full card comes in between 8 and 10 minutes.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    Default
    I'm having the same frame rate issues on random clips. We rescued those clips by going firewire from the camera to fcp. I find it strange that it should begin to happen now after shooting and importing hundreds of clips over a long period of time.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by shorelinedigital View Post
    I've noticed it happens randomly and reveals itself and clips with bizarre frame rates that don't play back properly. Sometimes going to an external program like P2 Log Pro or HDLog seems to work. Usually from not write protecting the card before transferring the files on a mac.
    Tom

    Oops, talk about random. Here's the quote I'm reffering to....I'm having the same frame rate issues on random clips. We rescued those clips by going firewire from the camera to fcp. I find it strange that it should begin to happen now after shooting and importing hundreds of clips over a long period of time.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4
    Default
    I average 8 minutes per 14.6 GB card ( a full card) on a hopped up Dell with a 2.6 gig Intel and 2 gigs of mem.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Drag and Drop P2 partition from Harddrive
    #20
    Junior Member ppfeiffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    8
    Default
    Barry,
    Based on some of the issues you have listed I would like to be clear on a workflow issue.

    Am I risking my footage by using finder to drag and drop from one Hard drive to another?

    My situation is a little different from most as I do a in camera dump to a Lacie Hard drive in the field as I am generally away for up to 8 days on trekking expeditions with no power or access to laptops. I achieve this by powering the HD with one of the HVX batteries via an adaptor we built and then doing an in camera dump to the hard drive. I then reformat the P2 card and continue. Once back I immediately backup the footage from my acquisition HD to both my Working HD and Backup HD.

    I understand the issue you have been working on with P2 cards and the mac as I use a duel adaptor with a MBP while at home but to re-sate can i use finder drag and drop from one HD to another or should I use an alternate program.

    Regards


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •