PDA

View Full Version : SCAM - Panasonic AG-HVX200 for $1649



aragoneldragon
05-21-2007, 02:41 PM
Want to know what is behind this scam?...well, keep reading!

I called all those places saying they have these pro HDv cameras for sale at ridiculous prices, they are all jerks on the phone and super rude, not only that but they get offended when you ask what comes with the camera!

I finally ended up placing my order with Express Cameras since the guy on the phone was cool, although I knew it was all bull sh*t.

After you place your order, they offer you a Sony HVR-AU1, and if you did not know about it, it's a consumer camera, really small and not even compares in price and technical aspects to the panasonic or other pro-consumer HDv cameras.

After I said I was not interested in that camera, the sales rep on the phone said he placed my order and it was going to be shipped in 1 week. After that I received 2 emails:
1. confirming the purchase
2. saying that they are out of stock (ohh what a surprise!!)

Of course they are out of stock!!! They can't sell these cameras at that prices they advertise, they just want to sell you cheaper cameras and make a quick switch on the phone, that way you end up paying $2000 for a camera that costs less than that.

I tried to attach pics of the emails I received, but it was a pain in the as*, here is the email:


From : <info@expresscameras.com>Sent : Monday, May 21, 2007 9:10 AMTo : <@hotmail.com>Subject : ExpressCameras.com Order Update - Order#128xxx

http://gfx1.hotmail.com/spacer.gif

Dear Fxxx Axxx,

Unfortunately we are currently oversold on the item you have ordered, and it iscurrently on a backorder for 6-8 weeks.

Therefore, your order has been canceled. Please note, your credit card has not been charged.Your cancellation number is:12xxxThe email address that you provided to us has been added to our "Notify List"and we will notify you as soon as the product becomes available.

How Does Our "Notify List" Work?Once the product you ordered comes back in stock, we will email you to notifyyou that your item is back in stock. If you which to re-place your order you maydo so by clicking on the link which will be in the email.Please accept our personal and sincere apology for any inconvenience youexperienced with this order.

We know that you have many options for your camera/photo needs. We appreciatethat you selected ExpressCameras.com, which prides itself on superior productsand services, and we are sorry that we were not able to meet your needs in thisinstance.If there is any additional assistance we can provide, please feel free to emailus.

Sincerely,Shipping Department.

THoff
05-21-2007, 02:53 PM
Express Cameras is currently being sued by the New Jersey State Attorney General for the exact practices you just experienced. If you want to help put an end to these scammers, you can send any documentation you may have to the Consumer Affairs division of the AG.

http://www.nj.gov/oag/newsreleases06/pr20061130a.html

wgzn
05-21-2007, 03:01 PM
this may sound mean but the way i see it is anyone who is gullible enough to fall for these scammers deals deserves to be relieved of their money - SHEEESSH!

things that sound too good to be true - usually ARE.

aragoneldragon
05-21-2007, 05:39 PM
Thanks for checking out the thread!!!

I hope this helps others...and I have submited a claim to the NJ Consumer Affairs, I hope all those thiefs are put in jail.

Jason Miller
05-29-2007, 12:47 AM
if you gave them your cc number, cancel it. otherwise in a month or so, you'll start seeing charges to it you didn't make. these crookland guys hit on four fronts,

first is the bait and switch, and sorry its out of stock,

second, is, you need these items with that camera. they ship those items, $200 plastic tripod and such, and tell you the camera is on back order, they dont charge for the camera, but they do for the other items

third, when you return the items you no longer need as you have no camera to use them with they get you with a 20% restocking fee.

fourth, wether you are victom to, or avoid the first three, they have your cc number, and know how to use it.


this sounds cold but there are two rules of thumb, other than if to good, than it is,

------------------------

Jason

cheezweezl
05-29-2007, 02:03 AM
before i knew the deal on the brooklyn places, i ordered a yamaha surround system from fotoconnection.com. it's one of the typical new york spots. the item was called a sound projector due to the way it sent sound all over the room and simulated surround from a single unit. well when the guy called to try and upsell me, i guess he thought he was selling a video projector because he told me how the bulb included with the unit would only last a week. i told him that it wasn't that kind of projector. he then tried to sell me some really expensive speaker cables. i told him that this is a single unit, receiver and speakers all in one. no cables required. i guess i stumped him because he gave up and shipped my order. it arrived on time and exactly as advertized. at the time, the going rate for this unit was around $1300. i got it for $800 and it was all good. my credit card was never used fraudulently later or anything like that.

don't get me wrong, i know these guys are full of sh*t most of the time. however, there was the one time i got a deal so you never know.... i tried to buy an hvx just to see what would happen. same deal. when i turned down all of the overpriced upgrades they told me it was out of stock. but that was it. my card was not charged then or anytime after that. my email has not filled with spam. my firstborn has not been stolen and auctioned off. nothing.

one thing is for sure, if you are looking to be scared out of anything at all, the internet is the best place to look. there is always a never ending supply of people who love to blow things out of proportion and create drama. just use common sense in any situation and cover your butt and you'll be fine...

joshtownsend
05-30-2007, 04:08 PM
Wow what a surprise!! Someone from New York offering you an HVX for an unbelievably low price and it isn't true. It's amazing how many people fall for this stuff dispite many warning and numerous posts.....even a sticky.


This happens so much and not just with cameras. They do the same thing with HDTV's and everything. My dad, who is the smartest business man I know almost fell for this trying to save 800 bucks on a 3 grand TV.

www.resellerrating.com guys!! Cmon People have been saying it for years. Buy from an authorized dealer especially if there is one in town or within driving distance from you. The 200 hundred dollars extra you spend buying it town instead of ordering might save you alot of down time if your camera needs repair.

It's common sense guys.

This has been a huge problem in New York for a while. These are all mob connected companies which explains it all. If you do actually get your camera it's gonna be grey market or just plain stolen. You've seen Goodfellas and the Sopranos right? I know those are movies but that's really how things work up there. Any other state and these companies would have been shut down 7 years ago.

joshtownsend
05-30-2007, 04:11 PM
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras

.44 out of 10 rating. LOL That's pretty bad. Damn.

Jason Miller
05-31-2007, 03:21 AM
the problem isn't really these stores, a theif is a theif, keep killing them they keep coming, the problem are the sites like shoppingcartusa.com. look at all the rave reviews for these crookland sites, hell it makes me almost believe them, untill you start comparing the poor grammer in the posts, and realize these post were all written by 5 or 6 people.

I mean really how hard would it be for shoppingcartusa and others to manage this better, but I actually have a feeling these sites are owned by the crookland stores. yes they include jrs and b&h, but whos going to pay 6 grand for a camera, when 2000 people from across the country are telling you that the 1200 camera is just as good.

Jason

joshtownsend
06-01-2007, 12:48 AM
"I mean really how hard would it be for shoppingcartusa and others to manage this better, but I actually have a feeling these sites are owned by the crookland stores."

Ya think? Of course they run them or at least pay them for the good reviews on crap sites like that.

wgzn
06-02-2007, 12:18 PM
these companies all depend on the stupidity of the buying public. and sadly there is no shortage of that : (

David Jimerson
06-02-2007, 12:27 PM
Guys, the Crooklyn stores have been well, well, WELL covered within these hallowed pages.

Aragon, sorry about your dealings. But I'm closing this up, because it's the same as about 20 other threads.