PDA

View Full Version : PAL A1 Christmas footage - SD, lowlight, no CC

PRUSZKO
12-28-2006, 03:38 PM
OK, this is the very first time I've posted my footage, so be gentle on me (also, English is not my main language) ;-)

I just saw some noisy lowlight footage in another post, so I've decided to share my experience in the same shooting conditions. The verdict - the camera is amazing!

When I first got it out the box and walked around my apartment I was frustrated with the amount of noise. Fiddling with the gain switch didn't help a notch. I started thinking I got a faulty unit when a revelation came upon me - the AGC switch!

All new XHA1 buyers - MAKE SURE THE AGC (Auto Gain Control) IS OFF!!!

OK, back to the footage. I have had no experience in event videography (to be honest I haven't really shot anything much in my life), so I was really like a child walking in the fog. I plan to do music videos and indie shorts, where I can have control over lighting. Here I had to work with the available light (mainly Christmas lights and candles) and I did everything intuitively.

The gain was set to -3, no NR. As you can see, the motion in the "moody" parts is a bit videoish - 25 shutter speed (PAL). But I thought my family wouldn't care less about "film-likeness"...

The daytime footage was shot with 100 shutter. You'll clearly see the difference. It's "the look" for me. I prefer the faster shutter motion rendering and 100 provides that look, without getting too strobey.