PDA

View Full Version : XHA1 and Premiere Pro 2



GoroCow
12-19-2006, 08:50 PM
Hi, I use premiere pro 2 for video editing. I was wondering which timeline setting people are using to capture and edit the A1's HD recording. Since there isn't really a setting built in for 24F or 30F I was wondering if there is an option I am missing or what you need to do for it to playback properly.

Huy Vu
12-19-2006, 08:53 PM
There's an update on the adobe site that lets you edit in 24f and 30f mode.

PaPa
12-20-2006, 08:03 AM
i would imagine since its not a true 24fps, 24p or anything of the sort that it records it to tape as 60i and simulates a 24fps look. no?

The footage is not progressive right?

prodigywookie
12-20-2006, 09:02 AM
its not 60i.
its 24fps right off the tape therefore he needs to update his premiere pro

philnerd
12-20-2006, 09:15 AM
i would imagine since its not a true 24fps, 24p or anything of the sort that it records it to tape as 60i and simulates a 24fps look. no?

The footage is not progressive right?

Eh? Where are you getting this information? Its encoded as progressive frames and isn't even compatible with 60i decks.

t-h-e-w-h-o
12-20-2006, 11:33 AM
can someone link me to that update as well? And to my understanding it is proggresive just doing it a differnt way? but it is a full non-interlaced 24 frames.

Kholi
12-20-2006, 11:56 AM
It's misinformation. It is progressive, but not Panasonic's style of progressive. It's STILL 24 seperate frames per second. Which makes it Progressive. Just isn't done in the same fashion.

Kevin Dorsey
12-20-2006, 12:00 PM
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=98&platform=Windows

No 24f output to tape yet.

-Kevin

GoroCow
12-20-2006, 12:03 PM
Well, here is the link to the update, hopefully it'll work, I won't be able to test it till I get home later. Unfortunately it loses the ability to export to tape for some reason though.
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=3408

t-h-e-w-h-o
12-20-2006, 01:31 PM
Well, here is the link to the update, hopefully it'll work, I won't be able to test it till I get home later. Unfortunately it loses the ability to export to tape for some reason though.
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=3408

but what would the point of exporting to tape be.. it doesnt even have an HDMI output.... You just need to wait for HD-DVD or blueray.

AuditoryVisuals
12-20-2006, 06:25 PM
It is devrived from a "24i" if you will. Then line doubled to create 24f. Which is simply 24p but half resolution because of the line doubling. It still looks amazing though. It's still 24Hz. PaPa? Aren't you usually in the DVX100 section?

PaPa
12-20-2006, 06:33 PM
:) im crossing over, i am dying to get some HD footage on my portfolio. but just not enough money right now,

waiting to see if this dvxuser group discount kicks off.

Huy Vu
12-20-2006, 06:50 PM
It is devrived from a "24i" if you will. Then line doubled to create 24f. Which is simply 24p but half resolution because of the line doubling. It still looks amazing though. It's still 24Hz. PaPa? Aren't you usually in the DVX100 section?

I don't think that 24f is half resolution because if it is then it wouldn't deserve the buzz that's been going on. I seem to recall testing done at DVinfo that confirms that even though 24f lost some resolution, it's definitely not half. Canon still haven't reveal how they're doing it but it's gotta be more complicated than just doubling the lines.

Barry_Green
12-20-2006, 07:00 PM
24F is sourced from interlaced chips and recorded as progressive. There is a mild resolution drop, but only about 10-15%, nowhere near half.