View Full Version : What's the proper settings to dump A1 footage into FCP?

Jay Rodriguez
11-22-2006, 06:26 AM
I shot a quick test clip in HD 24F but not sure on how to bring it into FCP the correct way....

Anyone working in FCP with this? Looking for some pointers.


11-22-2006, 06:50 AM
You need the latest FCP--5.1.2

Look for the "HDV 1080 24p" Easy Setup.

Jay Rodriguez
11-22-2006, 06:56 AM
Are you sure about that? I read somewhere on here (which I now can't find) that 4.5 was good for it as well.

11-22-2006, 06:59 AM
Yes, 5.1.2 is the version with HDV 24F support. JVC 720 24 support too.

It's well worth the upgrade price.

Jay Rodriguez
11-22-2006, 07:32 AM
I know I'll have to up grade eventually but didn't think I'd have to by using the A1.... lol

EDIT: Here's a good write up regarding HDV and FCP (for the most part)


"It still amazes me that even as of mid-March 2005 I still find users who don't know that FCP 4.5 HD does not edit native HDV. So, I repeat- FCP 4.5 HD does not edit HDV. You need to find other means to get that HDV footage into FCP."