PDA

View Full Version : How good is A1's HDV for online video?

GL2guy
10-31-2006, 02:38 PM
I am very interested in purchasing the Canon XH A1 camcorder and had one simple question as I am new to the HDV camcorder scene.

99.99% of all the video's I produce are for the web (rarely ever are seen on actual tv sets)... and thus I am looking for crisp sharp videos that can fill up the entire computer monitor.

Can anyone who has experience with editting HDV content for computer-viewing tell me how HDV picture quality compares to the movie trailer HD movies you would find at, say for instance, www.apple.com ?

Uncompressed HD is out of the question, for various reasons, and if HDV can give me this clarity, then the A1 is an 'all go' for me.

Anyone know if I can get super clear/crisp full-screen size video for the internet out of HDV? Thanks for your opinions and advice.

magichristopher
10-31-2006, 06:35 PM
You can certainly get good enough video for web streaming from HDV, quality depends on how it is shot, the content captured, and how well you compress it for delivery.

Obviously HDV isn't a streaming format but H.264 will certainly suffice for your needs, but I can't imagine it will be leaps and bound better than your GL2 once it is downrezzed and compressed, unless you require 24f or XLR inputs.

I would honestly suggest staying with the GL2 if the web is your delivery medium, the XHA1 wont really have any advantages that I can really think that will make the audience appreciate it more once it is delivered.

DavidBeier
10-31-2006, 09:22 PM
Someone asked a similar question when wondering what to shoot for YouTube. For web compressed stuff, unless you actually have the space to let people download in HD resolutions, it's really not worth getting an HD camera.

henry cho
10-31-2006, 10:23 PM