PDA

View Full Version : Render 16:9 without the bars, correct?



Rubix³
10-02-2006, 10:49 AM
In other words, let's say I'm exporting out of Vegas.

I crop my 4:3 non-letterboxed, non-squeezed footage with the 16 by 9 preset, set the template to widescreen, and export.

I do NOT change the rez to 720 by 640 to include the bars.

Correct?

So the end result is 16 by 9 footage without the bars.

Sorry if this is a silly question... I just want to make sure before I upload - I can finally get into the FTP today.

Thanks

Mark Harris
10-02-2006, 10:54 AM
In Vegas, here's what I posted about this:

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=706355&postcount=15

Yes, it comes out without the bars. The bars are there to crop a 4:3 to 16:9

Rubix³
10-02-2006, 10:59 AM
Thanks for the reply. Again, it was probably a silly question but I wanted to be certain.

I read your thread. What's the difference between that and changing your project settings to widescreen after the 16 by 9 crop and exporting?

And it renders the same without using the Match Output Aspect option, correct?

I've read through a number of the threads here, but I haven't been able to dedicate as much time as I'd like due to filming and work.

Mark Harris
10-02-2006, 11:07 AM
I just wanted to keep my workflow clean. So I created a separate "Widescreen" project.

Rubix³
10-02-2006, 11:14 AM
I just wanted to keep my workflow clean. So I created a separate "Widescreen" project. I see. Just making sure.

I'm also using Vegas to stretch my project which is why I stated what I did above.

Does the "Match output aspect" thing keep the black bars from appearing on the sides or is it just for the preview?

Mark Harris
10-02-2006, 09:55 PM
it gets rid of the bars. Sorry, did not see that last part till just now...