PDA

View Full Version : increased frame rate?



MovieSwede
06-12-2006, 02:26 AM
As I understand the cam can shoot 1080P at 30fps

And 720P at 60fps and thats because you read lesser pixels on the cmos.

But if I want to shoot at 2,35:1 aspect ratio i would be better to crop the 1080 image. wich gives me a 1920*810 pixel image wich would be enough for a 35mm filmout.

But as a lot of shooter here I would love to shoot slowmotion 2,35:1.

So the big question would it be possible to shot a cropped 1080P frame (1920*810) or a anamorfic stored 720P frame (1280*720 pixel aspect ratio 1,333) from the sensor at higher speeds than 30P?

David Newman
06-12-2006, 07:51 AM
Technically there would be enough bandwidth to shoot 2.35:1 (1920x810) at 40P, due to the reduced pixel count. There are a lot of this type of optimization that could be added by the SI guys. As it is all software it could happen after the camera ship if there is interest in custom modes. You can get really custom like 1440x608 (2.35:1) at 72fps. The CineForm RAW editing system can handle all the mixed resolutions and frame rates.

MovieSwede
06-12-2006, 09:04 AM
That was good news, just hope the SI guys will implement this as an options, because 2,35:1 high frame rates has always been a drawback on most digital camcorders.

The f900 had good enough picture quality to rival 35mm on the big screen, but it couldnt shoot slowmotion without some sort of compromise.

Forrest Schultz
06-12-2006, 09:56 AM
also, im pretty sure it does 720p at 72 fps already, so cropping it would increase the frame rate even more than 72 correct?

Ari Presler
06-12-2006, 09:50 PM
1920x810 at 40P has been added to the feature request list Other Imge/fps
setting are possible just need the justificaton.

Ari

Emanuel
06-13-2006, 06:31 AM
The f900 had good enough picture quality to rival 35mm on the big screenI agree...completely. Resolution...bits discussion aside, that's where the revolution had its beginning.

MovieSwede
06-13-2006, 08:55 AM
1920x810 at 40P has been added to the feature request list Other Imge/fps
setting are possible just need the justificaton.

Ari

Thanks Ari for putting it on the request list. 1440*608 at 72fps could be a nice option to if you really need more slowmotion.

I think your camera gains just more and more advantages against the cinealta line of cameras.

Ari Presler
06-13-2006, 11:39 AM
Sure it is possible. For now we have the 1280/72P mode.

If the 40FPS overcranking is not enough for a 2.35:1 projects, we are considering another product, specifically targeted for special effects work in the studio :-) ! Then we can leave the Cinealta's eating dust!

Yas Kassana
06-15-2006, 06:22 AM
Does the Silicon shoot in 4:3 mode, if so i suppose you can use an anamorphic lense to shoot in 2:35:1 mode right?

Ari did you get my email about a proposal?

MovieSwede
06-15-2006, 06:27 AM
Does the Silicon shoot in 4:3 mode, if so i suppose you can use an anamorphic lense to shoot in 2:35:1 mode right?

Ari did you get my email about a proposal?

As I understand its a 2/3 16:9 cmos.

But first of al the anamorf will create problem for the cam, second if you shoot 1920*810 you will have enough resolution for a 35mm print.

Star wars episode 2 was shoot 1440*1080 chromares 480*1080.

Yas Kassana
06-15-2006, 06:40 AM
Star wars episode 2 was shoot 1440*1080 chromares 480*1080.

Really that looked pretty good on big screen! But also we have to remember the sharpness of the HDCAMS, real resolution is above 1000 lines on res charts. Let's what the silicon can do.

MovieSwede
06-15-2006, 07:04 AM
Well forgot to tell you it was cropped so the version you saw was only 1440*810