PDA

View Full Version : trying to purchase dvx100b but online stores keep ripping me off



56kfilms
03-30-2006, 05:45 PM
I would like to know of a good website where I can purchase the DVX100b camera. I been purchasing from places like Bestbuycamera. TCS PCplasma, etc and they have been giving me the run around. I'm looking to spend 2500 to 2800. I've been looking since february and haven't had any luck. Any tips would be greatly appreciated

Aaron Koolen
03-30-2006, 05:59 PM
Always go to a sponsor of this site or a site you hold in high regard (like DVInfo for me). Then you won't have any problems. EVS or B&H will do the trick.

mikenphx
03-30-2006, 07:24 PM
I don't know about that price range but I bought my 100A and two other cameras from Buydig.com which is very reputable. They usually have good prices and I found the cheaper you get the less likely the legitimacy and quality of the product.

Check it out: http://www.buydig.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=PNAGDVX100B

Good hunting.

Palace Films
04-22-2006, 03:37 PM
Check out Roscor.com. They are a legit company.

SilverWolf
04-22-2006, 03:45 PM
make sure you read this thread before buying a DVX
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=10706

R.L. Scott
06-13-2006, 06:26 PM
try geniuscamera.com

jimwww
06-15-2006, 11:08 PM
geniuscamera.com does not lead anywhere - it is a network solutions site and under construction.

Matt Grunau
07-11-2006, 11:32 PM
People laugh at me when I tell them, but I got my DVXa from CDW. The guy knocked lie 400 off the price (not counting Panny's discount) and I have been dealing with CDW for computer gear for years and am alaways amazed at their customer service.

Mine came with Barrys' book and the software (which I lost almost immediately).

VMajor films
07-14-2006, 09:05 AM
I bought my dvx100b through amazon.com. Got it quick and it came with the book and DVD. fair price for it too.

MattinSTL
07-24-2006, 07:57 AM
Well there you go... check those links... it looks like you got some good advice. I bought mine from www.profeel.com (http://www.profeel.com) before I even knew what DVXuser was... it was a good experience for me.

I think buydig is your best price so far... you can't just find the lowest price and assume everything will work out. There are so many shady places in NY and NJ that it's not even funny... and yet the line of suckers seems endless so I guess they can keep doing what they do.

In the end nobody is going to sell you a cam and make ZERO on it... so every time you see a price of $2500 and think you're actually going to get one for that you may as well vaseline up your hind end before you even make the phone call. It 'aint gonna' happen...

All they will do is charge your card for the $2500... then never ship your camera until you agree to pay for all the accessories that are already in the box... or a $200 tripod that's worth $20... and a cam bag that 'aint worth sh*t... or some "shooter's package" for $400 that's nothing but junk.

Don't be stupid... buy from one of the stores that people here have bought from... there 'aint no free lunch! Stop getting in line for one.

Dino Santoro
10-25-2006, 02:03 PM
If you don't mind the camera being grey market, thecamerabox has a dvx100b for $2650:
http://thecamerabox.com/product.asp?id=pavagdvx100b
They have good reviews on resellerratings. I have not personally bought from them, they just came up in my research when I was looking to buy.

tav7623
05-31-2007, 08:58 PM
I recently bought my DVX100B from beachcamera.com for $2679 and I had no problems what so ever, they didn't even try to get me to buy any accessories over the phone like some online retailers, when they called to confirm the order. The camera came brand new in a factory sealed box with everything that they said was in the box. Which included remote control,mic holder,shoulder strap,lens cap, battery,battery chargers, master series mini dv tape,Viewfinder Eye Cup, one year warranty, and an offer to receive the DVX book and Magic Bullet software for free. The company is in good standing with the better business bureau and bizrate.com and is a certified/featured retailer/merchant by shopping.com, cnet.com, and yahoo shopping, well I hope this helps you out and good luck getting your camera.

Bus No. 8
06-11-2007, 01:50 PM
I also had a good experience buying my 100a from Beach Camera, and it was a couple hundred dollars cheaper than B & H.

ThatOneJonGuy
06-11-2007, 03:58 PM
I bought mine from www.willoughbys.com (http://www.willoughbys.com). They are an authorized dealer and had the cheapest price when I got mine. I think they're selling it for somewhere around $2700 right now. Great experience. Would definately recommend.

-Jon

mainstreetprod
07-22-2007, 03:53 PM
Like Mattin, I got some gear from Profeel.com and the experience was good.
They often beat the B&H price. Another I would not hesitate to buy from is
Studio Exchange.com, got my HVX there (they had it on Ebay) and the experience was painless.

joemiked
12-28-2007, 02:01 AM
i stopped looking for inexpensive short cuts after a cuople of dvx horror moments
i got one from ebay and they forgot to send it for three weeks so i cancled another ebay dealer sent me a new one for x amount of sving bucks and when i got it was used had three hours on the heads so they tried to give me credit on nock off items , i just saved up some extra scrap and hunted down the authorized dealer in my hood !! 3400$ (two years ago) got the barry green book a software plug cd for my nle and then the big bonus rolled in ~mula rebate ten new tapes! a super new kewl batterie! in the mail three weeks later i felt all right got my cam no hassle or bs ! soemtimes getting those low cost garrantee can cost you soem freagin time and money!! dont let me scare ya now ok just check out what rebate programs are happing and read the fine print of any dealer!!!
mike d

PhantomVideo
01-12-2008, 07:11 PM
http://www.bestpricecameras.com/prodetails.asp?prodid=352090 ? $899 is this for real ?

zach72
01-17-2008, 12:16 PM
I called these guys. This is just the shell of the camera. They have actually taken the LCD off, there is no battery or lens, just the inner workings. He said it would be around $3100 if they sold the entire thing as one unit. They post those prices just to suck you in.

Jeff Anderson
01-17-2008, 12:19 PM
I doubt they will sell you just the "shell". THey just tell you the extra parts are "extra" and charge you "extra" along with a tripod you didnt want and some other crap you didnt want. Its a scam. Run. Buy from an authorized dealer. Spec-comm is a fave of mine, but any authorized dealer will be good.