PDA

View Full Version : Production: What was your last short budget? + More

Kholi
03-08-2006, 05:33 PM
Hey guys,

for those of you who/m participated in other short film contests, what kind of budgets were you working with or, what did you end up spending in the end?

How much do you plan to shell out on this contest?

if that's too personal, sorry for asking. =P

This is my first time touching a camera, ever, and I'm just wondering what kind of budget everyone else works with if any.

Ben Sliker
03-08-2006, 08:34 PM
we are college students, so basically nothing, but we probably ending up spending 300 between 3 guys.

which included a small crane, costumes, blood stuff, tapes, some pvc pipe for dolly rails, other miscellaneous stuff.

John C Lyons
03-08-2006, 09:24 PM
about $100

Brandon Rice
03-09-2006, 12:07 AM
I've produced two shorts
"One Step Ahead" - $83
"A Price Too High" - $160

About double for the second one. I tried to get more props, and feed the cast/crew better than McDonalds.

profnoxin
03-09-2006, 02:26 AM
That ranges wildly depending on what kind of project I'm working on, and what the intention is for the end product.

For our last short on this site we tried to beg borrow and steal whatever we could to get it done. In the end, it probably cost a couple hundred bucks.

For something where the clients have intent to distribute (huh... that makes it sound like a crime...) the budgets range from like 1600 bucks to 40,000. Really depends.

I've personally never spent more than about $2000 - $4000 on a film I've done.

oneinfiniteloop
03-09-2006, 07:43 AM
Not a short, but on my last music video I spent around $500 on rentals, etc.

Kholi
03-09-2006, 10:37 AM
That ranges wildly depending on what kind of project I'm working on, and what the intention is for the end product.

For our last short on this site we tried to beg borrow and steal whatever we could to get it done. In the end, it probably cost a couple hundred bucks.