PDA

View Full Version : first time...hello and help

cameragirl
02-20-2006, 11:05 PM
i am a photographer wanting to get into documentary filmaking.i used to have a video camera back in the day and took everywhere i went.i could not make documentaries with the dag gone thing, but later got into still photography. i shoot with a cannon rebel (film) and a nikon d70s. please point me in the right direction for my wannabe blossoming filmaking career. is there a book i can get? a camera i should buy? and what type of camera do people use that gives the documetary that "movie" look. is that the camera or the software? i have so many questions.:eek: thank you for your responses.

cameragirl........

J.R. Hudson
02-20-2006, 11:07 PM
Look lady

Get a DVX100 and conquer the world.

versioncity1
02-21-2006, 06:47 AM
theres loads of books you can get, how much use they are is a different matter. I think the best way of learning is by watching documentaries, making your own notes, writing down ideas and start by making simple 5, 10 minute length pieces. There is no way of learning apart from actually doing it and you will learn quicker and in more depth than any book or tutor can teach you

capitalP
02-21-2006, 08:47 AM
Buy a DVX if you have the money then use this site to learn everything, and you'll be on your way to recieving a shiny new Oscar... don't have the money save.

cameragirl
02-21-2006, 09:27 AM
thank you guys so much. i really like the advice of just doing it. this is actually how i started photography...by just doing it. i went to a couple of websites on documentary filmmakers, and after the reading all of their bio's, and their honorary degrees from nyu film school, boston university, blah, blah, blah....i got a little intimidated. i 'm 32 years old....def. don't have time to go get a degree when the passion is burning!!! im pretty computer savvy....can the dvx100 also shoot in black and white or is this something that happens in the editing phase?