PDA

View Full Version : documentary on a start up

fushikato
02-06-2006, 02:18 AM
ahoi
friends of mine just launched their business producing puppets in combination with short animations about them on the internet.
as an absolute novice tons of questions are going through my head on how to capture this with my dvx i bought used recently.
do you think its possible to do it on my own....picture and sound.
i do have a separate mic (panasonic ag-mc 100) hooked up to it....but will it do the job?
most likely it will be for tv purpose ...so 25p or 60i?
if everything works out ill be on my way to barcelona on friday reading barrys book night and day.
lately it has become a status of a bible to me but still leaves me sleepless with so much more questions witch i will post from time to time.
cheers for any help and

horrido

fushikato

galt
02-06-2006, 09:08 AM
This can absolutely be a one-person project. WHether or not you have the knowledge is a different issue. BArry's book is good, but you need way more than that to be competent. You need to learn about audio (as challenging as video, maybe more so). You need to learn how to think like a cinematographer. You need to learn how to think like an editor. And you need to figure out what the story is to be told.

Sorry I don't have time for a 50 page post....

fushikato
02-07-2006, 05:51 AM
it is possible...gracias!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

learning by doing, sharing thoughts and knowledge will hopefully get me through this in one piece.
but what about the 25p or 60i and mic thing?
i just dont have the money to go for wireless or any other fancy equipment.

horrido

fushikato

vidled
02-07-2006, 06:14 AM
Just a little info:
if you have a PAL version of the DVX, you can choose 25p or 50i (not 60i).