PDA

View Full Version : What camera

IVIajoI2a
01-30-2006, 01:17 PM
Hey this is my first post on these forums although i have been visting the pages for several weeks now. I am a 16yr old media student who plans to get into filmaking mainly directing. I have experience with a few short videos that i have made for projects at college and have read various articles and information from the internet and these message boards which have given me a very basic understanding of filmmaking. I have also built up a wishlist of books to order from amzon when i have some money, but the main question i ask is whether or not i should save up and get a prosumer mini-dv camera such as the Panasonic DVX100 or the Canon XL2 or buy a not so good consumer camera? The way i see it is that i plan to get a good camera evntually but is it worth getting a cheaper not so good camera before i shell out like£2500 on a decent one. I have no experience with higher end cameras only various panasonic cameras. Any advice and feedback is greatly welcomed .

Jeremy Ordan
01-30-2006, 02:29 PM
Rent, don't buy. How often are you planning on shooting and if you're interested in directing then meet some people who own equipement.

That simple, save your cash.

Cheesesailor77
01-30-2006, 04:51 PM
most schools have their own equipment as well. If you're just getting started, I can say without a doubt, the best thing to do is check out your community college or local public access station. If you enroll in a class u can check out whatever equipment you want, whether for a school project or not.

They very well may have a dvx100 or xl1/2 or something similar (mine do), but even if they have crappy consumer cams, at least u can use those and dont have to blow $400-900.

if your serious, thats where you start.

hemophilia
02-02-2006, 08:25 PM