PDA

View Full Version : Shooting a Speech

Nerdninja
01-23-2006, 07:08 PM
I've been directing live for about 16 years, and this is the first time I've been asked to shoot something with my DVC30. I'm shooting a speech in a church setting. I am trying to figure out the best way to handle sound. Do I mic the person speaking with a wireless lav? Should I try to tie into the PA system there? Should I use a shotgun and capture the sound off of the PA system that way?

Any other tips for me? I'm fine with 6-10 cameras, a truck and a crew, but I'm new to one camera and just myself.

galt
01-23-2006, 08:03 PM
:shocked:

Joe Kras
01-23-2006, 08:19 PM
I would pick any two of the three choices you put up (for redundancy sake). Run them through a mixer if you have one, otherwise straight to camera.

Test ahead of time to make sure they work.

Matt Sconce
01-24-2006, 01:48 AM
Definitely double back up the sound. You should be good to go!

Chiaroscuro
01-24-2006, 11:36 AM
If the speaker is being miked for a PA system in the church, you should try to get a feed out of the PA to your camera. Make sure you test it out first, though! Otherwise, I would use a lav on the speaker (wired or wireless depending on your relative position). A shotgun could sound too hollow or too distant if you donít hang it close enough the speaker. I am assuming you are looking for a relatively close audio perspective, which is a clear recording of the speaker without the echoes that a church environment creates.

The tips given previously about redundancy are great too. Always cover your bases.

You must have started directing in a pretty big market. At my first directing job, 12 years ago in the one hundred and eighty something market, I had to serve as a field photographer/editor between the 6pm and 11pm newscasts. It was great experience, but it was very draining to shoot and then edit a vo/vob, and then prep for the 11pm newscast that I had to both call and punch.

Good luck.

Nerdninja