PDA

View Full Version : Basic Casting/Audition Questions

908media
01-22-2006, 11:02 AM
This is my first time casting for a film. After reading through the boards, I have some additional questions.

Any help or advice would be great.

1. We have sides for each character. We will ask them for all the leads. Do they read through just once? Or can we ask for a second or third reading?
2. After general Q and A and sides, is there anything else I should plan for?
3. How long should we plan for each audition? Is an hour long enough?

After the first audtion, we plan to have a call back as well.

Thanks.

Scottdvx100
01-22-2006, 01:50 PM
Check a few books on directing and Weston's books on acting.
You want to see if they can take direction and see how much latitude they have.
Have them read a section with 2 or 3 different takes of readings under your direction (give them changes)
First casting call you could probably deal with 15 or 30 minutes. That's enough tiem to tell if they're worth takign another look at. You're going to have a lot of actors so try to keep it reasonably short (have someone mind the time)

uhrgl
01-22-2006, 05:53 PM
15 minutes is usually plenty. Put them on tape too.

Blaine
01-22-2006, 06:04 PM
15 minutes is usually plenty. Put them on tape too.

Absolutely put them on tape. You'll be surprised how often your eyes will see something different than the camera did. Not only that, you'll want to be able to go back and revisit their performance as you narrow down your choices.

908media
01-22-2006, 07:26 PM
Thanks for the help and great suggestions.

uhrgl
01-23-2006, 08:53 AM
You'll be surprised how often your eyes will see something different than the camera did.

Double true. There are beautiful people that are not photogenic at all, and then there are people who aren't 10s to the naked eye, but look amazing on screen.

maverickprods
01-23-2006, 09:35 AM