PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here-a few questions

AdamtheBob
01-16-2006, 01:53 PM
Hello all, my name is Adam and I just recently got drawn into the world of filmmaking.

Myself and my friends are shooting very amatuer films on a $100 digital camera and I am putting it all together at home using Adobe premier 6.5.

My friend and amateur director Dustin has his eyes set on being a full paid director. This has been his dream since he was around 7-8 years old. I would like nothing more than to help make his dream possible. I want to buy him a digital camera worthy of B-rated movies. I cannot spend more than $1000, but if I have to I may go as far as $1200. I don't know enough to tell the difference, but the camera would have to be able to transfer video to my computer.

Being his co-director and film editor and I would like to learn as much as I can about filmmaking. I finally found a filmmaking forum after a lot of searching and I can't wait to get to know as much as possible.

Any tips or advice would be great.

Thank you

Luis Caffesse
01-16-2006, 02:05 PM
Adam,

My advice would be to keep shooting with that $100 camera for as long as you can while you learn as much as you can. Keep reading posts and asking questions here.

The equiptment doesn't make NEARLY as much difference as your experience and talent. Keep working at it - and once you feel like you've outgrown that camera then you might want to start thinking about buying a new one.

Do you have one you can borrow from someone?

Arcwave
01-16-2006, 02:45 PM
I agree with Luis.

I first started out with a basic $200 Hi8 Handycam and used that for almost 5 years until just recently I was drawn to this forum and the DVinfo community which led me to buy my SONY HDR-FX1 [~ $3500 camera]

Stick around here and you'll pick up information that will truely help you and your filmmaking collegues achieve better.

It's good to have you here,

Jesse

dvxwheelr
01-16-2006, 03:00 PM