PDA

View Full Version : First Film

Larry Rutledge
11-22-2005, 08:13 AM
I am fairly new to filmmaking, only been involved with it for 3 years now (the first two of which were focused mainly on screenwriting). I just completed my first ever short film recently for a contest. One of the rules was that the film could not exceed 3 minutes.

I shot this on my Panasonic PV-GS65, consumer 3-CCD camera (still saving for my DVX). Currently I only have a WMV available, a quicktime version is rendering now and should be up sometime this evening.

(You know the drill, right-click and save, etc, etc) :)http://www.narrowroadentertainment.com/films/invitation/invitation_final.wmv

Thanks for taking the time to view this, I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts/comments/criticisms so I can grow as a filmmaker.

Thanks,Larry

reflex
11-22-2005, 10:38 AM
i just started watching it. But man that is a nice image. I know that camera shoots 30i. But how did you get that image? Looks really nice.

Larry Rutledge
11-22-2005, 03:55 PM
reflex - glad you liked the image...I was pretty worried about how it would look since it is a consumer camera. All I did was use an ND filter outdoors during the direct sunlight and then in post I adjusted the brightness/contrast, tried to get the color of most of the scenes to look pretty similar. I also applied a light unsharp mask to all the clips. Then the last step was to use Celluloid (a plug-in for Vegas) to apply the final color look to the film. In Celluloid are options to convert to widescreen (used that), deinterlace (used that), and convert to 30p (used that). There is also the option to convert to 24p, but didn't try it for this project.

That's it, nothing else. It's not as sharp as I would like all the time, and there is definitely a lack of shallow DOF, but overall I'm happy with how it came out...especially being my first project.

Thanks for checking it out,
Larry

Ed Kishel
11-23-2005, 02:41 PM