PDA

View Full Version : Slow Motion



themaestro
11-07-2005, 01:33 PM
How does one achieve a slow-motion effect with the GY-HD100?

WarrenS
11-07-2005, 03:35 PM
It did it by shooting SD 60P and then capturing with DV Rack but there are other options. Then I took the clip into After Effects and told it to interpret the footage as 24P. I imported it into a standard DV comp and rendered out. Very high quality appearing slo mo.

Barry_Green
11-07-2005, 05:37 PM
If you're shooting standard-def, the 480/60p mode will give you excellent slow-mo. If you're shooting high-def 24p, the 30p mode can be used to give a frame-accurate mild slow-mo, by importing the 30p footage into a 24p project and playing it back at 80% speed (note, this is a lot easier with some NLEs than with others!)

dashwood
11-07-2005, 05:52 PM
If you are on a Mac with Final Cut Pro, it is super easy to "batch conform" all the 60P or 50P clips in a folder to 23.98 or 29.97. Just digitize with DVHSCap or HDVxDV first, and then convert to a quictime codec (like AIC, uncompressed, DVCPROHD, etc.)
Then conform in Cinema Tools and drag your new slow-mo files into FCP.

stephenlnoe
11-07-2005, 06:21 PM
Or import into Liquid (or compatible) and place a 50% or 75% linear time warp for incredibly smooth slow motion.

athouguia
11-07-2005, 06:49 PM
And with premiere pro, which option is better?