PDA

View Full Version : New to Color Grading

Mark-P
03-29-2018, 09:32 PM
I'm new to color correcting/grading and I'm using Premiere and Cine4 footage.

1. My RGB parade seems to have similar shapes for all 3 channels, though the blues are touching 0. Does it mean I have too much blue in my blacks? Is this what crushing my blues means? For a good white balance, do you want all three channels to look like they have the same shape so they are balanced?

2. Should I adjust my color temperature, and exposure, contrast, highlights, shadows whites, blacks before applying an input LUT?

3. If I spend a lot of time adjusting my exposure, contrast, highlights, shadows whites, blacks is that essentially doing the same thing that an Input LUT would be doing? If so, after applying an Input LUT designed for Cine4, should I expect to only have to do minor White Balance and exposure adjustments and possibly other minor tone control adjustments after an Input LUT?

Any help will be very appreciated!

R_Marvin
03-29-2018, 09:55 PM
Mark,

Too many questions, I recommend investing in a bit of knowledge for yourself to give you a basic understanding and helping you move up from there to achieve your goals in color correction and developing your own unique style. Without knowing too much about you and your current level of expertise, make sure you have a good foundation in lighting and how to white balancing your camera. I don't want to assume, but perhaps you're already highly skilled in those areas, but if not work on those too. I would start with this book "Color Correction Handbook: Professional Techniques for Video and Cinema" by Alexis Van Hurkman which is availble from Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Color-Correction-Handbook-Professional-Techniques/dp/0321929667/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1522384692&sr=8-1&keywords=color+correction+handbook+2nd+edition