PDA

View Full Version : First time directing. Am I insane?

Droog
10-07-2005, 01:46 PM
Ok, so I ramping up for my first attempt at directing. Its a 48 hour film challenge, and I really hope that I am not crazy for picking this time to do it. I have been doing sound for several years now, been honing my lighting and shooting skills for the past year or so and have been on a lot of shoots, both high budget and low. So I am familiar and comfortable on sets however I am getting nervous and would appreciate any pointers, even the blaringly obvious are welcome.

Fortunately, I know and have worked with everyone on my crew. The down side is that I am also the youngest, but everyone is excited to be involved so I assume they trust me. I am really not too concerned about the technical, I think we have it covered well. Its the protocol of being Director that spooks me. My biggest fear is that I won't be able to express my self or I am going to be too aloof. I trust everyone to do there jobs I don't anticipate being a control freak, but I really want to make the day and get what we need to make this thing happen.

OK I'll stop. I know people post up like this, but any pointers would be awesome. If you think I am crazy to take on a 48 hour project let me know what to look out for. This will be my 3rd film challenge, but doing sound sure as hell is not directing.

Thanks everybody!

uhrgl
10-07-2005, 01:51 PM
You're probably a little insane, but go for it! It may not always be fun, but it will be good for you.

Are you doing the NFC?

khmuse
10-07-2005, 01:57 PM
I agree, you are insane and absolutely go for it. I was on a 48Hour film challenge back in June as gaffer/key grip/second unit DP. It was a lot of fun and a real experience pulling it together.

Have fun!

Cheesesailor77
10-07-2005, 02:03 PM