PDA

View Full Version : DVX200 Exposure

7DDude
05-27-2016, 10:11 AM
What do many of you think about exposing on the DVX200? Do you underexpose, or overexpose, if so, by how many stops, or IRE. This is my first time working with a waveform monitor. For me, it seems the battle is, underexpose, then lift shadows in post, but increase noise, I have Neat Noise plugin for PPro, But that takes double the time on encoding out, and I have a pretty fast Win 7 syste, and it softens the image some. Then overexpose, and you get blown out highlights, but decent shadows, as I'm writing this I think that I would rather suffer in the shadows area, and save the highlights.

mapper65
05-27-2016, 12:22 PM
Although the factory scenes aren't too bad I think you should try out that GH4 still like scene before you go too much further. Scene files can really make a difference in what you are seeing and what a certain exposure does for one scene file, that same exposure may show different results in another scene file. It's my opinion that there is really only one scene file that Panasonic has spent some time on that works in the new firmware and that's the GH4 still like scene. I think it's a great scene to learn how to use the camera. It's not going to be perfect for every scenario but it may be the most accurate scene file for the DVX200 that was done in the new firmware. It's a great starting point to manipulate if you don't like something that you seen in that file.

I'll admit that I'm not a pro with a waveform monitor yet but using zebras has really got me where I've needed to be thus far. As Barry had mentioned in one of his posts, you really need to use a combination of everything that you have in front of you....zebras, waveform and even the monitor or EVF. I personally don't thing any one of those devices are 100% reliable on their own but it's more like using them all, remembering what you saw on the monitor and what the end result was during playback on a reliable monitor.