PDA

View Full Version : Davinci Resolve and GH4



David Del Real
04-07-2015, 11:27 AM
Sorry if this has been covered but couldn't find it listed anywhere...

So can somebody explain the 4K downsample to 1080p in Resolve? I put my GH4 4K video on a 1080p timeline in Resolve but I don't know if it's just rasterizing or if it's actually downsampling like Adobe Premiere or FCPX. In those NLE's you can set scale to 50% (in Premiere choose "Set to frame size, in FCPX set Spatial Conform from "Fit" to "None.") and get a nice down sampled image. What's Resolve doing?

David Del Real
04-08-2015, 08:53 PM
Anybody? I Googled too but couldn't find any real answers.

Michael Carter
04-09-2015, 08:04 PM
Check over at bmcuser. Lots of resolve action there.

David Del Real
04-12-2015, 10:10 PM
Thanks guys, got it figured out. I set the input scaling in project settings to none so I can 50% scale in the Color window.

Lintel
07-19-2015, 04:20 AM
. In FCPX set Spatial Conform from "Fit" to "None.") and get a nice down sampled image.

Is there any benefit to doing this? What advantage does this offer over the default "fit" option?

I'd argue Fit is in fact the better option - better to do your grading etc on the original image and then downsample to 1080 on export! :shocked: