PDA

View Full Version : HD switchers?



sonisfear
09-10-2005, 03:24 AM
Does anyone know of a cost effective HD switcher?

I am looking to save post editing/render time by going back to the old school way of production.

I would love to be able to go native component (maybe firewire might make more sense) out of 2-4 or more HD100, HVX maybe even HZU cams hopefully various rezos and perform basic (fade and wipe switching hopefully with color correction and output to a HD deck like the BR-HD50U or DR Hd100 hard disk system.

A device like this would make indie HD telvision production a snap.

Barry_Green
09-10-2005, 10:33 AM
A firewire HDV switcher would be a bad idea... a really, really bad idea. The output from the camera is not realtime, it's delayed. Then when it gets to the switcher it would need to be uncompressed, and then the switched output would need to be recompressed (and recompressing HDV is never good).

If you want it for HDV use, I'd strongly recommend looking at either an HD-SDI switcher or an analog component switcher. That way you'd get a true live feed, and a higher-quality signal to the switcher in the first place. Of course, if you can't find an analog component switcher and you instead decide to go with HD-SDI, then you'll need analog-to-HD-SDI converters on each camera. Or, you could wait a while and see what JVC comes up with; they teased a version o fthe HD100 designed specifically for that purpose where they removed the tape deck and actually implemented an on-board HD-SDI output system. If they produce that camera, that could theoretically be even better quality than the analog-to-HDSDI version.

stephenlnoe
09-10-2005, 12:16 PM
For DV it is doable for sure with something like This direct linear DVcam/DV system by Edirol (http://www.edirol.com/products/info/dv7dl/dv7dl.html). But I'm unaware of an HDV offereing yet for direct linear.

NewTek's VT4 (http://www.newtek.com/vt/live.php)solutions may support HD through SDI now but I'm not sure. You may want to click on over to newtek.com and see what they have to offer. The VT4 is an incredible solution that is inexpensive (comparably). Amazing...

mikkowilson
09-10-2005, 04:48 PM
Do you know how much a HD framesync necesery to sync these cmaeras for switching would cost? ..In adition to a switcher!

- Mikko

sonisfear
09-10-2005, 08:35 PM
The VT4 actually looks promising it seems to have what I was looking for even component inputs but nothing about 720P signal going through it and out. I have emailed my local resell to inquire about these questions.

Thanks for the link.

Ya, I meant analog native signal I know that switching HDV file formats would not happen but I don't see why we could not switch analog HD and output analog HD.

wadespencer99
09-14-2005, 12:29 PM
Edirol has a new HD switcher out now...looks promising.


Edirol V-440 HD (http://www.edirol.com/products/info/v440hd.html)


http://www.edirol.com/products/info/images/v440hd.jpg

mikkowilson
09-14-2005, 02:29 PM
Wow it's funny coming back to this thread just 3 days later...

You want an HD switcher? ..to use with your new XLH1 i presume? :-)
SEE!! RIGHT HERE:: A USE FOR THE HD-SDI OUT!

My personal recomendatoin would be the Ross Synergy-100 MD. :-)

- Mikko

stephenlnoe
09-17-2005, 06:22 PM
You have probably already seen this but just in case:

Click here for the HD-100 SDI workflow (http://www.jvc-victor.co.jp/english/pro/prohd/production/event_videographer.pdf) for live switching.

take care...

sonisfear
09-20-2005, 06:22 PM
My God ...this is perfect....

What is the world coming to when indie guys can have a HD television studio for the price of what a NTSC broadcast camera use to cost.

Thank you for this post.

stephenlnoe
09-20-2005, 06:34 PM
My God ...this is perfect....

What is the world coming to when indie guys can have a HD television studio for the price of what a NTSC broadcast camera use to cost.

Thank you for this post.

I guess you got a demonstration on something?

sonisfear
09-21-2005, 06:38 AM
No I just read the site and if this does what I think it says it does I am buying it.

My question is the whole synchro thing.

If I can get a demo today I will.

I will keep you posted.

sonisfear
09-23-2005, 12:37 PM
I have spoken to Edirol the MSRP for now is $13,000 subject to change probably ready for November. The tech I was speaking to was able to confirm that this switch will work without sync blast from the horz/vert sync outputs. This tech had actually tested this function at NAB on the prototype model.

I also love that fact that this device can utilize SVGA monitors instead of expensive HDref TV. I have at least three 17" CRTs doing nothing right now that can be put to good use.

And I love the VGA inputs allowing me to use a laptop for character/graphics generation.

Guy_Cochran
04-25-2006, 06:07 PM
The V-440 is an amazing piece of gear! I thought I heard angels sing when I opened the box. Being able to live switch between an HD source and a 1024x768 laptop during a presentation is something I've been wanting for years. It's now here and works like a charm. It's so seamless and fluid it feels too good to be true.

Edirol also announced a few new HD multi-format converters at NAB http://www.edirol.com/press/html/2006/042406_vc_dvi.html