PDA

View Full Version : Capture Problem with FCP and using HDV720/24p



Harpo
09-08-2005, 12:30 AM
PLEASE HELP!!! I just bought the JVC HDPRO camera and doled out
as much on a Mac G5 and FCP 5 Suite only to find out that I cant
capture anything with the program shot in HDV 720/24p- which is the
main reason for buying the camera in the first place. Any ideas on
when or if they're going to release a patch or should I be switching
to another editing software?

Stuck in limbo :(

videoteque73
09-08-2005, 02:11 AM
Don't switch anything!!! Learn the camera inside out, rec in DV and practice with FCP... You have great combo, learn to use it to the max!

mezelf27
09-08-2005, 04:21 AM
You could switch to PC... Sony Vegas, Pinnacle liquid, ....

dashwood
09-08-2005, 05:46 PM
Any ideas on
when or if they're going to release a patch or should I be switching
to another editing software?

Stuck in limbo :(

Check out this thread.
http://www.dvxuser.com/V3/showthread.php?t=32996

I have also heard from JVC that they are working closely with Apple. I would expect to see a FCP 5.0.3 update within days or weeks.
You can digitize your 720p24 footage on a mac right now with DVHSCap or HDVxDV and then convert the streams to another quicktime codec with MPEG Streamclip. However, since FCP 5.0.2 already natively digitizes 720p30, you could also shoot tests in 720p30 and then digitize them within FCP. (I haven't actually tried this, but I assume it should work.)
FCP 5.0.2 does control the camera through firewire no problem when in log & capture. It shouldn't be a big deal for Apple to add 720p60 with a 24p pulldown removal to their codec.

Tim

dashwood
09-15-2005, 09:08 PM
This is interesting:

The HD100 is now listed in the supported camera section of the FCP5 Qualified Devices list. However, still no update. This must mean it is close though.

Also notice that the BR-HD50 deck is at the bottom of page 2, but the note says "720p24 mode is not currently supported."

http://images.apple.com/finalcutstudio/finalcutpro/pdf/FinalCutPro_5.0_Qualified_20050902.pdf

dashwood
09-16-2005, 11:38 AM
Lumiere have updated their homepage to reflect that they will be supporting the HD100 in version 2 of LumiereHD.

http://lumierehd.com/

What does this mean for FCP5 720p24 support? If Apple fully supports 720p24 HDV in their next update then Lumiere will have a redundant product. Maybe Apple and Lumiere have a strategic alliance and this is their 24p solution? Boggles the mind.

I would buy LumiereHD version2 if it could be triggered by the camera. Then you could load it into a powerbook and use it on-set for a direct to HDD recorder!

SouthCoast
09-16-2005, 11:17 PM
You don't say why you've chosen to shoot in 24P.
Is it because you are going to film?
Could you change the output settings of the HD100 to 30P so you can capture into FCP and start editing right away, at least until FCP is updated to support JVC's 24P?
Or, do you absolutely have to have 24P and have it now? If so, you will have to spend some more $$ on either a different editing system or a 3rd party app.