PDA

View Full Version : Question about indie films and Duct Tape

escozooz
09-02-2005, 12:15 AM
I am no expert but about half of the indie films I've seen or worked on seem to require one of the following things:

- An intergation scene
- Someone tied up and duct tape across the mouth
- Guns with cg flashes
- Someone waking up with an alarm clock
- Light sabers
- Poker games
- talks about college being hard
- etc.

If I am describing an indie film you have seen recently please lend your opinion on why these things keep reoccuring. I am making a point not include any of things in the next film I write.

*I am at fault to shorts including many of these things :undecided

GenJerDan
09-02-2005, 12:30 AM
Nah...what you are seeing are only Indy films that got distributed. There are plenty of Indies that don't contain those things...

...gathering dust on a shelf somewhere.

Used to be, you'd target your audience when made something. Now it's targeting the distributors - who think they know the audience.

Or did you mean here? Pretty much the same problem, actually.

craigbowman
09-02-2005, 01:05 AM
- An intergation scene -
Any scriptwriter who can't spell interrogation is forced by the Screen Writers Guild to put one of these in.
- Someone tied up and duct tape across the mouth
That's just the usual P.A. who thinks they know more than the D.P. and won't keep their big mouth shut
- Guns with cg flashes
That's the result of not actually listening to that P.A. who really did know more than the D.P.
- Someone waking up with an alarm clock
That's just the last audience member in the theatre who came to see your film.
- Light sabers
Cheaper to rent than kino flos and part of the new hand held "lighting veritee" movement
- Poker games
That's the producer engaged in more creative financing
- talks about college being hard
Hey, you try getting a decent hotel booking for spring break!
- etc.
That's because after spending six months writing that first page you need 89 more pages