PDA

View Full Version : philosophy....

dstevens
08-22-2005, 03:36 PM
Curious what people think about.....

I'm still new to filmmaking, but I've written and directed a few shorts, all zero budget stuff. Mostly it's me writing, directing, editing, doing all the leg work, dealing with all the technical issues (sound familiar).

I'm delving feverishly into the technical jargon: frame rates, lines of resolution, etc. It's all interesting to me, and someone in your production has to keep up with that.

But- for some of us, whose main love is directing, don't you feel you can be sucked so much into this technology you forget about things like acting, writing etc, supposedly the things that really make a film. Your stuff can't look amateurish, but I've heard the criticism that modern film schools are turning out technology masters, not directors.

As a self-taught no-budget director, I find myself apparently breaking a lot of rules. I talk to the writer (when I'm not the writer) and I listen to the actors - if they've been working through the scene and have a script change, I usually say fine. It seems a beautiful way to make films, just the artists -director, writer and actors telling a story together.

But I'm forced to spend a lot of time mastering all the details - everything about audio, everything about cinematography, using the NLE, etc.

Does anyone else feel this tension?

Jeremy Ordan
08-22-2005, 03:44 PM
Ummmm... That's called filmmaking.

If you take on a director role you are wearing many hats. You are the question answerer. People come to you and ask 'how does this look,' ' what do you want from this scene from us actors,' & 'what are you looking for as far as sound is concerned?'

It's called filmmaking. If all you want is to worry about the actors then you need to move more towards stage... I'm not trying to be an ass, but where its just writer, director, and actors, that's called stage.

dstevens
08-22-2005, 04:07 PM