PDA

View Full Version : Director Vs. DP in my Doc film

valdez
07-31-2005, 09:49 PM
OK, heres my situation; just curious to hear what others might think.
I was brought on to a very low budget Doc as the DP by a Producer (i.e. a guy with money who wants to tell this great story but doesn't know the first thing about film/docs) Before me, he had already "Hired" this Bone head as a "Director" who also has little/ no real film experience, but he swears that said "director" is such a good story teller as someone who wrote some great fiction Theatre shows. He insists that since he is a writer he'll be able to piece together a good story better than most. Anyway, I've been shooting for almost 5 months now and going way beyond call of duty to get to know and follow around the many people involved in the story (building rapport, trust, shooting thier lives on the fly, etc). I have lots of previous experience doing this and usualy shoot and direct myself for docs to keep things moving since usually my own things are unfunded anyway.