PDA

View Full Version : Where or how to practice photography? and other questions

cuervo.taylor
04-23-2013, 02:14 PM
Hi guys,

How do you usually practice photography, for example going to a park taking pictures, the zoo, a cemetery.

I'm a newb with a gh3 (still waiting for my lens to arrive), I want to start practicing.

Which places do you feel ok taking photographs.

I'm very respectful of other people space...as a photographer do we have to fight against shyness and take snapshots at whatever we can? how do you deal with this dilemma?

I remeber watching this video or a guy with a leika making street photography and just taking photos of people without their consent sometimes people even seemed to be bothered, he took great pictures but I can never imagine me doing the same. :P

Ryan Patrick O'Hara
04-23-2013, 02:38 PM
Everywhere. You'll find if you stretch the mind, you can make anywhere interesting or find just one thing about that place or person that is photoworthy.

Take photos everywhere.

Places to avoid: Government/Military buildings, hospitals and schools. The first takes that shit very seriously, the second is because of privacy laws, and the third is because parents go nuts and you'll look like a predator! Otherwise, go nuts.

Ryan Patrick O'Hara
04-23-2013, 02:41 PM
I've never used this, so possible quality issues withstanding, is a funny little thing to keep people from knowing you are taking photos of them.

http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/candid-camera-accessories-super-secret-spy-lens

TheDingo
04-23-2013, 03:24 PM
...I always recommend asking strangers if they mind you taking their picture. If you are friendly and explain your love of photography most people won't mind. I always offer to send them a copy if they can provide me with an email address. ( I shoot an extra shot of them holding up their address, which makes it easy to send it to them )