PDA

View Full Version : how can I get DaVinci Resolve to display % reference levels instead of "1023"



Nicholas Natteau
03-06-2013, 06:16 PM
Does anyone know how you can get DaVinci Resolve to display reference levels in terms of 0% being black and 100% being white instead of "1023" as a reference? I checked the prefs but I can't figure out how to do this.

If it's not possible, what would be the number equivalent of 100% brightness where you see clipping???

Thank you in advance.

adkimery
03-06-2013, 11:52 PM
I believe if you are working in 8-bit the legal range is 16 to 235 and if you are working in 10 bit it is is 64 to 960. Anything above/below are illegal whites/blacks respectively.


-Andrew

Nicholas Natteau
03-07-2013, 06:38 AM
Thanks adkimery. All the footage I would be color correcting comes from the Sony FS700, Canon C300, and Canon 1DC. So would that all be 8-bit?

adkimery
03-08-2013, 07:38 PM
It would but there might be a setting in Resolve that lets you choose if you want to work in 8-bit or 10-bit. Working in 10-bit won't make your 8-bit footage look any better but it might help reduce the appearance of things like banding or other artifacts that could be created during grading.


-Andrew

Noel Evans
03-08-2013, 07:49 PM
Nicholas where is the footage originating from? Via NLE? If so is there a transcode?

Nicholas Natteau
03-15-2013, 07:43 AM
Thanks for your help Noel. I'm using Premiere Pro CS6, but I haven't figured out how to roundtrip between Premiere Pro CS6 and Da Vinci, so I simply imported the unedited clips into Da Vinci to color correct before editing.