PDA

View Full Version : question for the ae pros.....

Sithxace
01-09-2013, 10:08 PM
I don't have a question about the technical part of after effects. My question is more about your workflow on creativity. Let's say you want to create a new project, you are starting from scratch. Can you explain your step by step process going from nothing in your head to a finished product. Do you watch inspirational work to get creative? Do you draw on a piece of paper your brainstorming? Or do you just keep messing around in AE until you come up with something special?

I find it so easy to just follow tutorials, what I wanna work on is how the pros create something. I know my question is a but vague and the answer is different for every project or situation, but give me some of your experience on anything.

adamrahn
01-10-2013, 11:39 AM
I'm not a pro, but I do quite a lot of AE work. For me I typically do a combination of those things you've listed. For certain projects I will doodle some stuff out, or storyboard how I WANT it to look, then I can go in, get my elements situated, and start editing until it works the way I envisioned (typically takes much longer than I expected). On other projects I will pretty blatantly just do a tutorial but with my own graphics in mind as long as it fits the theme/visuals (you can clearly see some VideoCopilot tutorials in my demo reel that I created for clients). And I will also just open up AE from time to time (usually when I've gotten caught up on other things at work), and just start dorking around. The other day I was playing around and ended up with a really nice set of animated lower thirds that I'm going to try and use on an upcoming corporate gig. I'm sure some of the real pros simply get prompts and then just let their imaginations and technical proficiencies run wild and free together - at least those people out there that are truly creative. Hope that helps a little.

Adam

Sithxace
01-10-2013, 09:15 PM