PDA

View Full Version : First project on Resolve Lite 9 any advice?

KINOKS
12-29-2012, 03:24 AM
So I'm getting ready to grade my first project using Resolve. I'm a noob as far as it goes grading in Resolve but I think I got it down... more or less, that is:)
I'll be grading a 30 min talking heads docu.

Has any body got any advice for a first time user? My workflow is Avid -> Resolve -> Avid -> After Effects (for final compositing and grain/noise removal (Neat Video)).

Thx!

Br
S

sharry
01-02-2013, 10:16 AM
It would be better to denoise before grading. So Avid -> After Effects. Export a lossless 10 bit codec like Proress 422 HQ or DNxHD 185x. Take that in Resolve and conform it with an EDL which you will generate from avid in the first place. Then back in after effects for titling, transitions and final compositing and finishing.

KINOKS
01-06-2013, 01:42 AM
Is there really such a difference when denoising before the grading? I've always denoised after grading...

sharry
01-08-2013, 01:45 AM
You must grade on the best image. An image with digital noise is going to end up alot different compared to a denoised image. Denoising after grading won't take you anywhere unless I guess you're working with raw. You can test it yourself. Take one video. Denoise it and export to a 10 bit lossless codec and grade. Also grade the video with noise and you'll see the difference.

brynsank
01-08-2013, 05:59 AM
Sharry is right, there most definitely is a difference. Best practice is to always denoise before grading. Of course I don't know any of the details of your project, but my workflow would normally be more like Avid > After Effects > Avid > Resolve

My best advice when it comes to grading: Less is more! Seriously.

KINOKS
01-09-2013, 07:35 AM