PDA

View Full Version : Best MiniDv?

FilmMakerr
07-18-2005, 07:48 PM
Hi, Im an aspiring filmmaker. I wanna start somewhere, I've been browsing around on ebay and have found MiniDV cameras under $900 which is my budget. If you had to choose from all the MiniDv's (no handycams) for an novice, which one would you choose? I appreciate the respond, Thank you.

Shaw
07-18-2005, 08:47 PM
You wont get anything but a handycam for under $900

Scottdvx100
07-18-2005, 09:01 PM
Not sure how your labeling handycams. You want to get a camera that is MiniDV based so you can edit it. If possible get ne that you can set manual focus and exposure on. Mid-levle Sony's can. ideally 3 chip color cam but probably not for that type of money.

The main point is to get a camera and start creating short films so you gain experience with filmmaking and story telling. Fro mthere yo uget get a better camera and be ready to use it.

FilmMakerr
07-18-2005, 09:38 PM
Thanks for respoding. Actually, I have seen Minidvs (no handycams) on ebay for less then a grand. Which is why I asked what kind I should buy. I'm picky with cameras, I dont wanna get a camera that I cant use, I wanna be able to record, edit, etc. I'll take anything thats good and is willing to give me the usage that I need.

Pais
07-19-2005, 10:22 PM
With all MiniDV cameras (even the $300 ones), you'll be able to use the exact same workflow -- shoot, acquire via FireWire, edit, then (optionally) record back to tape, encode a DVD, or publish it on the web. The only difference is the control over the quality of the image that's recorded onto the DV tape.

Obviously, get the best stuff that you can afford, but it might be worth considering diverting some of your budget to things like a decent tripod, lights, and maybe even building your own dolly. These things can be used with whatever camera you own in the future, and while you're getting started, the camera itself is really immaterial.