PDA

View Full Version : Wedding... tips for a wedding. help

JCVR
07-18-2005, 11:23 AM
So, I've sort of been forced into filming my cousens wedding since i'm the 'filmmaker' in the family. I have never done this before and so any and all help is appreciated.

My basic plan of attack was to have a friend with an XL2 stay in the back rows and get b roll footage from there. The long shot, maybe some zoom outs. Then I would have the DVX on maybe a DVX rig pro getting the more dynamic and emotional shots. The closer shots / more obtrusive. I've already asked the bride if she wants the camera to be obtrusive or not, she very much wanted the dynamic shots - so that's not a problem.

any real advice from you professionals? camera settings? anything?

thank you so much... i love this place.

krestofre
07-18-2005, 01:00 PM
Well, I'm far from a wedding professional, but I've had cousins that I didn't even know existed ask me to film their weddings, so I've been in your situation. Your plan of attack sounds great. The biggest obstacle you're going to have is sound. Do you have any wireless lav mics? If so, mic the groom for good sound during the ceremony. If you have a shotgun mic, then you can try to hide it as close to the groom/bride/minister as possible. I hid a shotgun at the top of an arch once (that was fun).

The only other thing I'd add would be that for the last family member wedding I taped I grabbed a small handycam and set it up in an unused hallway at the church. Then I passed around the message to the guests that there was a camera set up for anyone to share their personal comments to the happy couple (of course I had to swap tapes every hour to keep it running). That gave me some great stuff to using during editing and give the video something a little extra.

Hopefully someone who does weddings professionally will chime in, but I hope that helps at least a little.

Chris

JCVR
07-18-2005, 06:01 PM
ahhh, all lovely and excellent tips. Thanks very much.