PDA

View Full Version : After Effects Rendering Slow.

brandondull
10-12-2012, 01:43 PM
Hi guys,

My After Effects CS6 is rendering really slow. I am pretty new to the After Effects software. I could not get my new composition to import into Premiere Pro it says "unsupported file formats." My composition is an intro/outro title but thats fine because I was trying to export it anyhow. I added it to the render queue. I selected h.264; quicktime file to output to my desktop. My composition is 10 seconds long. My render is sayings 40 hours. I enable disk cache in media & disk cache on my a/e preferences and set my maximum disk cache size to 500 GB. I made a folder on my desktop for the cache. Then I went to memory and multiprocessing tab. I am working with 8gbs installed ram. My ram reserved for other application's is 1.5gb. Ram available for a/e is 6.5gbs. I have turned a/e multiprocessing off. should that be on? it says I have installed cpus; 8 - cpu's reserved for other applications; 6 and ram allocation per background cpu 3gb. Actual cpus that will be used; 0. I have listed my current Mac setup specs below;

Early 2011 17'' macbook pro
0S X: 10.8.2
Processor: 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 8GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB
Mac HD: 675 GB Free out of 750 GB
Lacie external HD: 980 GB Free out of 2TB

Am I at a point where if I want to get intensive with After Effects, should I save up and get a MacPro desktop? I know that I can max my MacBook Pro to 16gb. (8gb in each slot) Apple just does not advertise that though; read it on a forum although in Premiere Pro CS6 my sequences work flawlessly. I am just not sure whats going on why a/e is taking forever to render. Any help would be awesome.

capt chuck
10-12-2012, 02:28 PM