PDA

View Full Version : Panasonic HMC150 vs HMC80 - beginner needs help!!

smartin110
08-23-2012, 03:20 AM
I am a absolute beginner in this field, and I'd really appreciate any help you guys can give me on this. I'm looking to shoot mostly documentary videos within a faily controlled environment. I love what I've seen of the HMC150, but I also like what I've seen of the HMC80. My original plan was to purchase 2 HMC150's - one for primarily still shots and the other to move around and catch various angles during interviews. So here's my question; Is there a noticeable dropoff in video quality between the two? I've been shopping around, and I can obviously save myself some serious cash by buying one of each. I'm a musician, so I know what it's like to buy a piece of gear that's "not quite as nice" as I would like, only to regret it later. I thank you in advance for any input you may have on this.

capt chuck
08-23-2012, 08:12 AM
Welcome to DVXUser! You may get more response to your question if placed in the Panasonic HMC area, but I don't know if you can move it or not and posting to multiple forums is discouraged.

That said, here is my take. I use two or more cameras for event video all the time, but for documentary work, two cameras can be nice, but you can get quite nice results with just one. You can film the main video and then take some B roll footage afterwards. For example, if the subject is a sports star, I'd rather have my extra footage be of shots of his trophy case vs. different angles of the "talking head" and the shots of the trophies you can take after the main interview. Even if you do decide to use two cameras, I'd still start with, and learn one first. If you do decide that one will do, then you might consider stepping beyond the 150 to something like the AC130. You're right, that as in the music field, you can regret going too low end.