PDA

View Full Version : Denoiser - how important is it?

Russell Moore
08-04-2012, 07:50 PM
I'm just getting started filming/editing and I have Premiere Pro and After effects. Figuring everything out, watching tutorials etc.

How important is it to have a denoiser? Is it going to make big difference?
I see Neat video and Magic Bullet make them. Are their any good free denoiser apps to be downloaded. My budget is pretty much depleted.

Any help or insights would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Cassius
08-04-2012, 08:58 PM
Depends on what your footage looks like. I don't use any for the most part.

arco1
08-05-2012, 04:16 AM
There's a pretty good one included in After Effects - although a bit slow by today's standards.

Jim

HeadStAtE!
08-05-2012, 05:31 AM
I like Neat, if you're uploading video to YouTube it does help to remove noise if your footage has any. See the tips at the bottom of here: http://www.streamingmedia.com/Articles/ReadArticle.aspx?ArticleID=83876
You can noticeably improve the quality of your video on YouTube by using a sophisticated, scene aware, denoising filter prior to uploading.

HeadStAtE!
08-05-2012, 05:34 AM
Also I've not used it myself yet but Devinci Resolve has a denoiser, the Lite version is free: http://blackmagic-design.com/products/davinciresolve/

simonpwood
08-05-2012, 10:22 AM
I have Neat Video and find it to be indispensable for certain shots.

However, you really only need to buy a Denoiser when you actually need it. I started editing back in 95' and only bought Neat Video in 2011 when I finally got some footage that needed correcting!

However, with digital technology becoming cheaper (and more people using it without traditional training) and with sensors becoming more sensitive, you certainly see a tendency for people to use less lighting these days. So I find I am being handed lots more noisy DSLR footage these days by cameramen.

Prendi
08-05-2012, 10:29 AM