PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation on color correction software

djosbun
07-30-2012, 08:17 AM
Hello! I'm an avid reader of this board, and enjoy reading about everyone's ideas about everything filmmaking. I am not a professional but would like to advance myself. I currently edit in Sony Vegas Pro (ver. 8, I believe), and will be putting together a new workstation so I can advance my editing capabilities (Vegas Pro 8 has a hard time handling the AVCHD files on my current laptop). Is it safe to assume that there is not a 'bad' color correction software on the market, but what would someone recommend as a nice starter package? I don't want low-end, however, but price is obviously important since i'm not making money with my videos at this time. It seems that Magic Bullet Looks is a very popular package, but I noticed that they also have Colorista II. For those that are familiar, how do these products differ? It was hard for me to tell on the Red Giant website, but is Colorista a more scaled-down version of Looks? Or is there something that would be a better choice? I don't want to just do basic color correction (like white balance tweaks) but it's hard to say exactly what I want to do since i'm still learning the art of post production.

Many advanced thanks! I really do enjoy the enthusiasm that the posters on this message board exude!
Dave

Robbie Comeau
07-30-2012, 09:02 AM
I've recently switched to premiere because final cut is just falling out of place with their ugly new updates. But either way, Magic Bullet is available for AE, FCP, and Premiere (someone correct me if I'm wrong)

It really depends what kind of projects you are coloring, and how in depth you want to color.

Magic Bullet Looks is a cool software offering many looks, and you can adjust them accordingly.

I usually do my color correcting in the editing program I'm working in. (again, this is usually for weddings, and corporate gigs)