PDA

View Full Version : Sick of my T2I , looking for alternative suggestions

fixxxer76
07-17-2012, 05:49 PM
Let me start by saying I am a hobbyist who likes to make short skits/films for fun. I do a lot of research and spend a lot of time reading about filming, lighting , using NLE's etc. I currently have a T2I (magic lanterned) with a nikon prime 35 f2.8, Canon 17-55 f2.8 and canon 50 f1.8. My problem is I cannot get great looking images. I have problems w/ sharpness resolution, and aliasing. I have the canon 17-55 which is supposed to be L series glass but I'm just not getting what I want. I know the h.264 codec for canon sucks so I'm asking What other people can suggest. I keep reading the GH2 (with hack) is great but that means I have to get a micro 4/3 converter or new glass, is that worth it? Should I spring for the Mark III? I feel like I would still have resolution and codec problems. Should I save up for the FS100? I'd like to stay under 5K. Any suggestions. Thanks

paulhouston
07-17-2012, 06:18 PM
Get a GH2 which seems to meet your requirements of sharpness resolution without aliasing. Also get some Panny and/or Zuiko lenses. Altogether they will be under $5K

ulisses
07-17-2012, 06:20 PM
Gh2

fixxxer76
07-17-2012, 06:20 PM
Forgot to comment on the fact that there might be a gh3 coming soon? should i wait for an announcement on that

maranfilms
07-17-2012, 06:31 PM
never wait for a camera. Its a waste of time. If you feel your canon is holding you back, then get a gh2 and call it a day. Even if there were a gh3 coming soon, you better believe you will be waiting for a while before you can even get your hands on one. This is how pani does it, it was like that with the gh1,2. It took me three monthes to get a gh2 after it was released. What is it about the Canon you feel is not good enough? What do you shoot? and do you have the ability to light your scenes or whatever. just curious as to why a hobbyist is hitting the wall with a very good camera.