PDA

View Full Version : GH2 Is this normal ?



flinty
05-30-2012, 07:36 AM
In bright light with correct exposure a spot is clearly visible always in light areas on my GH2 !
If the lens is opened and the picture overexposed the spot goes the more the lens is opened.
It does not matter what lens,zoom or pancake is used.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XMa7oFA_zI
Gives some idea what i meen,and if its normal or not .thanks

mcbob
05-30-2012, 08:02 AM
Educated guess: dirt on the sensor, or dead pixels in the sensor.

flinty
05-30-2012, 08:31 AM
Eek i thought it may be dust on the sensor at worse.

flinty
05-30-2012, 09:27 AM
A sensor clean proved fruitless,but i have since found it does not show in programn mode or can be made to show,it does not make sence,if the sensor was damaged it would be in Programn mode as well surely.

Kholi
05-30-2012, 09:35 AM
That looks like dust.

soarprod
05-30-2012, 09:48 AM
Try a different lens - it could be dust in the lens if you are stopped down to f/16 or f/22.

flinty
05-30-2012, 11:44 AM
Lenses make no difference,and if its dust why is it not there in progamn exposure mode,i have now tested shots of the sky and light paving in the sun using both manual and programn modes and setting exposure with the histogram! the spot was only there in manual exposure.

awelgraven
05-30-2012, 03:56 PM
What's your F-Stop in manual exposure? If it's a F11 or somewhat deep iris, dust on the sensor is more likely to show. When you switch to program mode, it might be shooting at a lower f-stop and using shutter speed to cut the light.

Take your lens off (in a fairly dust free environment and inspect it and see if you can see a spec of dust on the sensor.

Phenixone
05-30-2012, 04:09 PM
That looks like dust.
Because it IS dust. B&H sells some censor cleaning kits. http://bhpho.to/Kt7hSe

DPStewart
05-30-2012, 05:18 PM
All we are is dust in the wind...
~Thoedore S. Logan

flinty
05-30-2012, 11:46 PM
Thanks for all the help,there is no sign of a speck at all on the sensor or the sensor end of lenses,i am reluctant to clean the sensor manualy as it may make it worse,it is strange that if p mode can adjust exposure and f stop with no spot why it cant be done manualy,Baffling.

EDIT now i have looked at the sensor with a powered magnifying glass i can see a tiny speck,it does not explain why Programn mode wont show the spot on any video.
Personaly i am worried about cleaning it myself and wonder if a photo shop may do it.

gundar
05-31-2012, 06:32 AM
Flinty,

I'm glad you found the speck!

I'm sure you can spend $100 to send it off and get it cleaned by a respectable camera shop or maybe ask some of our generous members for a detailed how-to or some tutorial videos on how to do it....

flinty
05-31-2012, 09:36 AM
well i was advised not to do it myself so i sent it off,the local camera shop could have but Pana have their own firm.

DPStewart
05-31-2012, 12:57 PM
Never underestimate the power of something tiny...eh?