PDA

View Full Version : Recent 100A Doc Work

Shaun Patrick
06-20-2005, 06:06 PM
I'm new to DVXuser.com but have owned/used DVX100's over the past two years. Thus far I've been very impressed by of the footage/overall quality of work posted on the forums and I thought I would add a little taste of what I've been shooting using a DVX100A. The link below will take you to two QuickTime movies from my graduate thesis film. It's a documentary about little league baseball that focuses on one coach and his love for the game.

www.hometeammovie.com

Coolness.

redcap
06-20-2005, 10:53 PM
From a production standpoint, you seem to be the right track - you probably could use a little help with the audio. One shot you panned off to the left, that would have been an excellent time to put the stuff in the foreground in focus. But it did have a good depth of field.

But your problem lies in the editing. To put it simply - its kind of boring. The main speaker is often repeating things he has already said. In otherwords- it needs some cutting. The audio in the b-roll is a bit on the high side- high enough to add distraction. He doesn't really seem to be talking about much of anything, and when he does it takes him a little too many words ('uh','I uh', 'and' seem to be very popular) to get his point across, and then he aknowledges himself when he re-iterates what he's already said (Like I said before, you don't have much maturity at that age.)

By doing this you will inherently change the way the audience interprets the character - he may seem more.... less wordy. I think thats good, because it seems like he often is having troubles recalling information.