PDA

View Full Version : Making Background Black - Separating Object

LiamR
05-12-2012, 03:41 AM
Im fairly new to all of this and I'd say in photoshop I would be able to achieve it, but as it's footage and I am probably going to need After Effects, I've got no idea.

I do realise Green Screen is obviously the answer here but I didn't have one.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7075/7181106580_8d212f0747_c.jpg

I just want to make the whole background black to give the object (the person) more notice, rather than have that blotchy, bad lighting in the background.

Anyone here know the steps I need to take to achieve this?

j1clark@ucsd.edu
05-12-2012, 09:05 AM
Im fairly new to all of this and I'd say in photoshop I would be able to achieve it, but as it's footage and I am probably going to need After Effects, I've got no idea.

I do realise Green Screen is obviously the answer here but I didn't have one.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7075/7181106580_8d212f0747_c.jpg

I just want to make the whole background black to give the object (the person) more notice, rather than have that blotchy, bad lighting in the background.

Anyone here know the steps I need to take to achieve this?

The process you are 'looking' for is called Rotoscope. One creates masks for each frame, which cover the object of interest, and then 'drop out' the background, or unwanted portions of the image.

It is tedious... but for live action, with no greenscreen or continous tone background that's about the only choice.

Your subject was poorly lit so it will be even more tedious...

Here's a tutorial for CS5 After Effects. The significant item to notice is the example has a 'well lit' subject, and so the more automated tool, can 'work'... otherwise it's tedium...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYgfDUnA1Ys

bgodoy
05-12-2012, 02:03 PM