PDA

View Full Version : GH2 High bit rate hack vs external recorder?

KarimNassar
05-09-2012, 05:15 AM
Hello everyone, I am new to video recording and I must say the subject is quite fascinating.

Regarding improving image quality on the GH2, we have the option of hacking to increase bit rate or the use of an external recorder.

Hopefully this is not a stupid question, but which is best?

When using the hack you increase the bit rate of the images thus improving quality but you still get the AVCHD 8 bit compression correct?

External recorders like the ninja, record the images via hdmi before they are processed through the internal codec of the camera and directly in 10 bit ProRes correct?

Would that not yield better image quality than hbr without the need to hack the camera?

thanks!

stoneinapond
05-09-2012, 07:26 AM
As far as I remember, the HDMI output for recording is next to useless because of the way it is implemented. Using it for monitoring is fine.

There was a lot of discussion on this topic a while back and perhaps you can search out the details.

mcbob
05-09-2012, 08:12 AM
I don't even like using the HDMI for monitoring because of how it kills ETC and 720. IIRC, the signal is always interlaced and only 8 bit 4:2:0, and as such nearly pointless to feed to a recorder.

Internal hacked lets you shoot in ETC and 720, at whatever bitrate, and you don't have to deal with powering some makeshift contraption and pray your HDMI cable doesn't get tweaked or unplugged.

Ian-T
05-09-2012, 09:55 AM
As far as I remember, the HDMI output for recording is next to useless because of the way it is implemented. ...