PDA

View Full Version : GH2 GH2 video modes - rules of thumb

bmcent1
04-17-2012, 09:25 AM
I'm new to the GH2 and enjoying the heck out of this camera. But I've read the manual and lots of reading on forums (for days! :) and I haven't found a concise explanation of the video modes yet that will help me film.

I'd like to shoot 1080 30p (or 1080i/60) in the best quality possible. But I'm also willing to try 1080/24 or even 720p for some shots if it means getting better video quality.

Are there any rules of thumb about modes that produce the best video quality? Within creative movie mode, generally lowest ISO, manual exposure and aperture, is the order:

1) 1080p/24 cinema High
2) 1080p/30 via Variable Movie Mode 80%, sped up 25% to be 1080p/30 if no sound needed
3) 1080i/60 HBR
4) 1080i/60 FSH
5) 720p/60 SH
6) 720p/30 Motion JPEG HD

If that list is wrong, but there are some generalizations, please correct it. Also, does the list change if HighISO is desired? I saw a recommendation to shoot in Motion JPEG in low light, lower detail situations to maintain bit rate.

bmcent1
04-17-2012, 11:51 AM
I did some testing today to try to get some general rules for myself. I was using a Sigma 150mm/2.8 macro with adapter to shoot a tiny spider in a web. This gave me a highly detailed "model" and tons of very out of focus background via shallow depth of field.

Here's what I found to be the best in terms of least noise (or in the presence of noise, I preferred film like over blotchier video looking noise):
1st - VMM 80%
2nd - 24H (very close to tied)
3rd - SH
4th - MJPEG HD
5th - HBR
6th - FSH

When it came to ETC / EX mode, the top two were the same but FH dropped down to the bottom next to FSH:
1st - EX VMM 80%
1st (tied) - EX 24H
2nd - EX HBR
3th - EX MJPEG HD
4th - EX SH
5th - EX FSH

This is with Sanity 5, but I hope it's generalizable to any patch/hack/settings that are reasonable and not broken.