PDA

View Full Version : GH2 Edit GH2 material directly or transcode with 5DtoRGB?

Tass
04-15-2012, 08:45 AM
Hi!

I am going to start to edit a commercial soon that's going to have quite some color correction done to it. I have the free version of 5DtoRGB on my computer, and there is over 40 video files. So it will take some time to transcode all the footage if I choose to do it. I would just like to know if I would gain any quality if I take my time to transcode all the material instead of just editing it in Premiere directly... I did a quick test and I'm no pro at pixel peeping but I did find the transocded material a bit less grainy and blocky when pushed in color correction. But maybe it's just me.

One great thing is that the transcoded footage is much easier for my computer to handle, but other than that, what are your opinions? I have Googled it, some say that they skip it and edit the native footage, other swear by it and would never edit before transcoding their GH2 footage.

I'm running the Orion hack on my GH2 if it matters...

DBP
04-15-2012, 08:55 AM
Hi!

I am going to start to edit a commercial soon that's going to have quite some color correction done to it. I have the free version of 5DtoRGB on my computer, and there is over 40 video files. So it will take some time to transcode all the footage if I choose to do it. I would just like to know if I would gain any quality if I take my time to transcode all the material instead of just editing it in Premiere directly... I did a quick test and I'm no pro at pixel peeping but I did find the transocded material a bit less grainy and blocky when pushed in color correction. But maybe it's just me.

One great thing is that the transcoded footage is much easier for my computer to handle, but other than that, what are your opinions? I have Googled it, some say that they skip it and edit the native footage, other swear by it and would never edit before transcoding their GH2 footage.