PDA

View Full Version : GH2 Banding and Recording Monitors



JChang
03-17-2012, 06:27 PM
Hi fellow dvxuser, I have recently got my GH2 and I am currently recording my first short.

I have ran into a problem however. We have a couple scenes where a computer monitor is in the screen and the refresh rate banding is coming through really badly.

I know this wasn't a problem with CCD Cameras.

Is there a fix for this?

stoneinapond
03-17-2012, 06:51 PM
Use an LCD.

JChang
03-17-2012, 06:59 PM
Yes, using two laptops and my LCD.

mcbob
03-17-2012, 08:51 PM
Change your shutter speed until you find where it goes away.

This can also be a problem with fluoro lighting fixtures.

Ian-T
03-17-2012, 08:55 PM
...and yes...as far as I know one will encounter the same issue with CCD cameras. It's not a sensor type thing....it's a shutter speed thing.

atarijedi
03-18-2012, 01:17 AM
Try using ETC mode.

Matthew P
03-18-2012, 07:29 AM
Make sure the LCD monitors are at their maximum brightness settings. Sometimes the backlight brightness is adjusted by flickering frequency, especially in the case of LED backlit displays. A lower shutter speed should also eliminate it.