PDA

View Full Version : GH2 Complete Noob GH2 Question

BennyWhiskers
12-14-2011, 03:08 PM
Having already bricked a GH1, I was hesitant to get another DSLR that requires a hack. Then I saw the latest GH2 hacks and realize that this camera is now at the top of the pile by far.

Here's my idiotic question:
The GH1's supposedly could only be hacked if they were made before a certain date cause the newer models had firmware installed that prevented the hack. That being said, does this bode for the GH2 as well? I plan on buying one off of Amazon or BH and would feel somewhat like a fool if I couldn't hacks it..

JackBayer
12-14-2011, 03:14 PM
Hey,

that was once the issue but got resolved with a newer version of ptool. No such problem on the GH2 so far!

maranfilms
12-14-2011, 03:35 PM
You really don't even need to hack the gh2, it produces beautiful footage right out of the box. Now if your a pixel peeper, where you do test after test, then stare at your monitor for hrs on end looking for flaws, then I would say yeah, go ahead and hack it,. But i'm willing to bet 99.9% of the people who will watch a film will never see the difference between a hacked and non hacked gh2.

People become obsessed with the perfect image, and therefore never get around to filming anything because they always find a reason to wait due to this issue or that issue within the cam. Like I said before, audience members don't notice the tiny little imperfections a pixel peeper does.

With that said, the gh2 is a great little cam, especially for the price point, you can use beautiful canon fd glass on it, which to me is the best combo for the gh2. Enjoy your new cam:)

BennyWhiskers
12-14-2011, 03:40 PM
Thanks for the info! That's definitely something to consider, especially with the new firmware update by panasonic :D

BennyWhiskers
12-14-2011, 03:41 PM
I wonder if I could fix my gh1 or if it's just broke forever :/

stefancolson
12-14-2011, 04:03 PM