PDA

View Full Version : GH2 Premiere Pro CS 5.5 and GH2



notharrylume
11-14-2011, 11:18 AM
Is anybody editing GH2 files with PP CS 5.5? I'm thinking of getting both, but I'm reading in the Adobe forums that there are issues with it hanging up badly when scrubbing.

Also (pardon the ignorance) is it possible to edit hacked GH2 files (44 MB, GOP3, etc) in CS 5.5?

Thanks much for your responses.

Chris Adler
11-14-2011, 01:39 PM
No GH2 here but if you have a good NVidia graphic card and a beefy processor you shouldn't have any problem at all. I can scrub near-real-time 4K Red Raw on my dual core 2.6 GHz with only 4G of RAM and a 9800 GTX. I wouldn't think bit rate will make any difference other than probably requiring more CPU cycles.

Why kind of processor will you be running this on?

DBP
11-14-2011, 01:46 PM
Is anybody editing GH2 files with PP CS 5.5? I'm thinking of getting both, but I'm reading in the Adobe forums that there are issues with it hanging up badly when scrubbing.

Also (pardon the ignorance) is it possible to edit hacked GH2 files (44 MB, GOP3, etc) in CS 5.5?

Thanks much for your responses.

It will be manageable, but I've been using both Premier CS5 and CS 5.5 with AVCHD files from my Panasonic HMC150. CS5 actually scrubs much smoother than CS5.5 right now. They released an update that improved performance somewhat...but for right now, CS5.5 is slower.

Also, the increased bitrates will make it even more sluggish. I downloaded someone's raw 176mb GH 2 file, and it chugged noticably worse than the typical 24mb AVCHD files I edit.

My system is a sandy bridge 2600k w/ 16 gigs of ram, so it's pretty top of the line.

bonobored
11-14-2011, 03:23 PM
It will be manageable, but I've been using both Premier CS5 and CS 5.5 with AVCHD files from my Panasonic HMC150. CS5 actually scrubs much smoother than CS5.5 right now. They released an update that improved performance somewhat...but for right now, CS5.5 is slower.

Also, the increased bitrates will make it even more sluggish. I downloaded someone's raw 176mb GH 2 file, and it chugged noticably worse than the typical 24mb AVCHD files I edit.

My system is a sandy bridge 2600k w/ 16 gigs of ram, so it's pretty top of the line.

It's more about GPU than CPU. Mobile rig:
Windows 7 64 bit
AMD Phenom II 4 core
16Gb RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme
PP CS5.5

The GTX 460 has the Mercury Engine hack. No problems at all with any GH2 hack.

DBP
11-14-2011, 03:27 PM
It's more about GPU than CPU. Mobile rig:
Windows 7 64 bit
AMD Phenom II 4 core
16Gb RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme
PP CS5.5

The GTX 460 has the Mercury Engine hack. No problems at all with any GH2 hack.

GPU support in the Mercury Playback Engine only accelerates certain things, like filters, scaling, and things like that. It has no impact on scrubbing and decoding AVCHD footage. That's 100% CPU related.

LunchboxGTI
11-14-2011, 04:25 PM
I'm using CS5.5 with the GH2 and no problems at all to report here. I have an i5 Intel with a gtx460 and 8GB RAM. I would like to move to 16 at some point soon though. All works great!

notharrylume
11-14-2011, 04:37 PM
Thanks for the responses - that's very reassuring.

MR Fanny
11-14-2011, 05:17 PM
same here, gtx485M with 16gig cuda enabled in PP5.5